Shellac manicure

20 Aug

Yes, I’m aware that I’m probably the very last person in the continental United States to try out this “new fangled” Shellac manicure. I recently had several back to back weekends of social events and I decided that I wanted my nails to look nice–a departure from their usual cracked, bloody and ragged appearance.

I’d heard good things about the staying power of the Shellac manicure, so I decided to give it a whirl. Typically, a traditional manicure is bunged up before I even get from the nail salon to my car–then, only to compound the damage is my compulsive hand-washing habits and just general banging about the kitchen that I’m famous for.

The Shellac manicure lasts upwards to 2 weeks and, the best part, is that it dries completely almost immediately, so the chance of user-error is slim. Here’s what my latest Shellac manicure looks like:

photo (7)

I pay $27 for mine, which seems like a bargain. Have you tried a Shellac? What’s your experience?

3 Responses to “Shellac manicure”

  1. Gretchen August 21, 2013 at 6:13 am #

    What are your nails usually like? I mean really. Mine are ragged and barely reach the ends of my fingers. Never had a manicure, I need somebody to go with me and encourage me!

    • Jenny J. August 21, 2013 at 7:05 am #

      Gretchen, my nails are not bad. What I wanted from a Shellac was for my polish to last awhile. So far, I’m at almost 1 week since my last Shellac and it still looks exactly like it did when I got it–shiny top coat and all. I think the most notable difference next week will be the new growth popping out at the nailbed. That will likely be what sends me back to the nail salon to either get another Shellac or maybe just take it off and give it a break until the holidays or something.

  2. K August 21, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

    Oh! It looks so good!

    I am a committed shellac gal. This is mostly because I’m also a nail nibbler and a shellac manicure just lasts longer than the regular manicures I was getting every five days or so. I love how it stays shiny and just does not chip. In over a year of getting them, I’ve never had the paint chip.

    I’ve noticed that my nails are as strong/not affected by the shellac, but I canNOT peel the nail polish off. If I do, then it also takes off a layer of nail and makes it weak and bendy. Having the salon soak it off leaves the nail strong and pretty much the same.

Comments are closed.

