“I carried a watermelon…”

9 Jul

If you were an awkward, impressionable pre-teen in the 80’s, this movie quote might ring a bell with you. Or, maybe I was the only awkward, impressionable pre-teen in the 80’s (sure felt like it at the time). The movie quote is from Dirty Dancing–a movie that I watched over and over and over and over, (and over)  the summer of 1988 or so, on a ratty, well-worn VHS tape. My intentions for watching Dirty Dancing over and over were several-fold: First and most importantly, I was on a righteous quest to get my hair to look exactly like Jennifer Grey’s.

Jennifer Grey hair

Thanks to my dear, beautician aunt, there was no shortage of perms available to me during this quest. Let’s just say it was an unfortunate time in my hair’s history.

Lifts on the Lake

Lifts on the Lake

I also was very interested in perfecting my “lifts on the lake” in the swimming pool at the country club, with my best friend. So, I watched the movie every night before bed in order to get it just right, so that we could resume practice the following day.

jean shorts

And lastly, I positively coveted “Baby’s” blue jean shorts. I chopped up several pairs of my jeans in order to try and achieve the same look. I don’t remember specifics, but I feel certain that 1. that didn’t go well and 2. my mother was likely rather peeved as a result of my efforts.

Thanks for tagging along for my trip down memory lane, because I’m going somewhere with all of this, I promise. The thing is, I’m finding that this summer, in particular, I’m revisiting some of these old obsessions. First of all, my hair is growing out and I’m embracing its wave. After years of willing it to be straight, I’m now letting it do its thing. So, although I’m not calling up my aunt for a perm in her kitchen, I am “scrunching” my hair daily–which I haven’t done in about 20 years–and trying every “sexy, beachy-wave” product on the market (future post about that). And, I’ve decided that I’d like some casual denim shorts, not unlike “Baby’s” famous ones.

So, I hit several stores over the weekend looking for the mythical denim shorts that I’ve been searching for since 1988. I came home empty-handed this weekend and I’ll tell you why:

First of all, the ones from Loft gave me “mom butt”–in a big way:

Loft shorts

I’m not trying to dance around the fact that I am, in fact, a mother, but come on.

Next, I went to Gap. That trip netted more shorts that were unflattering in the butt-department and the denim washes just weren’t my favorite. Either too light or, the ones that came closest to what I had in mind had factory-made white paint splatters on them.

Gap Splattered shorts

Considering that I regularly have real splatters on my pants (as well as a yogurt-covered raisin smooshed on my backside) I’m not looking to faux bois the splatters on my clothes. The Banana Republic that I went to didn’t have any denim, which disappointed me. Macy’s only yielded these god-awful Miss Me jean shorts:

Miss Me shorts

These shorts made me recoil in horror and then snicker and snap pics of them to send my friends, (this is not my own picture, by the way. I didn’t try them on…just mocked them from afar) who surely would never believe that such shorts exist.

So, I came home empty-handed. Then, I remembered the unexpected luck that I’ve had at American Eagle in the past. I wrote a post about it over at Style Lush because up until that time, I’d never been into an American Eagle store, because I thought I was too old for it. I went to their website today and found a few denim shorts that look like they might do the trick. I’m going to a store soon to see them in person, but in the meantime, here’s what I’m after:

AE dark denim skinny shorts  AE Destroyed Boyfit Midi Short  AE ROLL-UP DENIM SHORTIE

The above shorts retail for about $40 but American Eagle always seems to have sales, so I’d be willing to bet that they’ll be less expensive soon. Expect a full report after I go and try them on. So, you all “just put your pickle on everybody’s plate, college boy, and leave the hard stuff to me.” (Another quote which really doesn’t apply here, but I wanted to impress you with my advanced knowledge of Dirty Dancing dialog.)

One Response to ““I carried a watermelon…””

  1. badger reader July 9, 2013 at 10:16 am #

    Hah, Dirty Dancing was just on the other night, though I was annoyed how edited down it was. I noticed Baby’s jean shorts as well. Old Navy had some denim shorts that can be cuffed, though I am not sure the fit would be any better than what you found at the Gap. I was annoyed that the finish I like (I think it was only in Boyfriend style) came pre-torn and shorter inseam, so I went with a darker finish (Sweetheart). http://oldnavy.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=97029&vid=1&pid=524925032

Comments are closed.

