Update on the Over-the-Shoulder-Boulder-Holders

3 Jul

I decided to order a bra in my new size, which I thought was 32H. I got this one in that size.  It fit pretty well, but the band was just a little too snug.  So I exchanged it (by the way, Amazon is doing a free month of Prime right now) for a 34H.  However, you may have heard that lawyers don’t do math, so I forgot that if I went up a band size, my cup size would also have to change.  Naturally I thought about that after I ripped the tags off, so sure was I that this bra was going to be right.  Be ye not so stupid.

It turns out, even though I have some space in the cups, this is a really well-constructed bra, and it still looks decent and works pretty well.

IMG_1615[1]

 

Obviously I will be ordering 34Gs from now on, but this one does give me some needed lift and it really cuts down on the bounce factor.  The only negatives are obviously the extra space in the cups, and that because of that, it tends to form a little wide on my torso, and rubs my upper arms a bit.  I’m pretty sure going down a cup size would solve that problem.  (My husband’s input:  it is very Mad Men.  Take that as you will.)  I will say, after wearing this bra for the day, putting on one of my old bras felt almost supportless.  I’ll spare both you and my pride a picture of that.

Interestingly, I was at a major discount retailer picking up dog food one day, and I wondered if they had any bras in sizes over DD.  Guess what?  No dice.  So I picked up a Hanes t-shirt bra in a 38D (I could not find D or DD cups in less than a 38 band size), just to see how it would compare, because on the rack it looked about as huge as the one I ordered.  It actually fits okay.  Definitely not as structured or well-made as the Le Mystere, so I guess you get what you pay for.  I’m not sure what is wrong with the bra manufacturing and marketing industries in this country, but at least now I feel like a more informed shopper.

2 Responses to “Update on the Over-the-Shoulder-Boulder-Holders”

  1. Melissa July 8, 2013 at 9:39 am #

    Awesome, I was wondering if there would be more bra updates. I’ve become somewhat obsessed since the first post and I discovered my actual size. I refuse to put on my old bras now, so I have two 32G bras in rotation now. The Panache Lucy Balconette which is pretty nice and my newest is a Cleo by Panache, similar style but it seems to be a bit more snug. I’m waiting for it to break in and I think I could have done GG but it seems to work. You might also consider a bra extender vs going up a full band size, once the band stretches you can lose the extender as well. That’s my plan if my Cleo doesn’t break in quickly enough. I even ordered a bra sized tankini from the UK and I can’t wait for it to show up!

    • lawyernomore July 10, 2013 at 8:43 pm #

      I hadn’t even thought of a bra extender – great idea!

Comments are closed.

