I made a new dress!

23 May

Ok, so I sort of made a new dress.

I’m doing the 31×31 challenge associated with May’s Mission: Put Together so I only have 31 items of clothing (including shoes and accessories!) to wear for the month. By last week I was getting sick of my options. One of the things I picked was a long-ish brown skirt:

Day 7

I was brainstorming ways to make it look different – tuck a shirt in? wear the skirt high so it’s shorter? – but didn’t have a lot of options with the other items in my 31×31 closet. I saw my favorite red dress hanging there, though, and had an idea:

Day 15

The brown skirt is full enough it looks fine (great, even!) with the extra fabric of the dress underneath. I love this colorblock look so much I think I prefer it to either item on it’s own!

Have you ever had a style brainstorm and came up with a non-traditional way to wear something?

3 Responses to “I made a new dress!”

  1. RA May 23, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

    I loved this look, and I’m glad you did, too! Go, you for being resourceful.

  2. K May 23, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

    You are turning crazy clever, woman!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. M:PT 2013 – Stats and prize winners! | Definitely RA - June 3, 2013

    […] Jes created this outfit from her favorite dress and a flowy skirt. She said, “I was messing around, trying to figure out another way to wear my brown skirt and look how pretty! It’s like I have a new dress!” She wrote about this combination in more detail at Style All Over. […]

Comments are closed.

