You can take the girl out of Target…

16 Apr

But you can’t take Target out of the girl, it seems. Remember when I waxed philosophical about “Quality over Quantity” and proclaimed that I was going to step away from Target clothing and try to buy just a few investment pieces instead? Well, after being cooped up with my dear, darling children for a solid week for Spring Break recently, their first day back at school, you better believe that I headed directly to Target to browse, Starbucks in hand, and relish in not being begged and pleaded with for toys or have to break up a single fight. That’s when I stumbled upon this dress:

$27.99

This picture isn’t a good representation of the potential cuteness that this dress possesses. $27.99 (www.target.com)

I was drawn to the bright, pink color and decided that I liked it, after trying it on. For whatever reason, I’m not comfortable belting things. I see other people doing it and it looks so stinkin’ cute, but when I do it, I feel…I don’t know, odd? Like it elongates my torso too much or something. In the past, I’ve been known to cut off the beltloops on dresses like this and wear them un-belted. When I got home, I tried on the dress several ways. Please let me know which way looks best, because my judgement is skeewed and clouded by my weird “belting hangup”.

left: with belt, using beltloops; center: with wider belt, slighter lower than loops; right: sans belt

left: with belt, using beltloops; center: with wider belt, slighter lower than loops; right: sans belt

Okay, what say you, dear readers? How should I wear this dress (or should I even wear it at all?)?

8 Responses to “You can take the girl out of Target…”

  1. Megan @ Mama Bub April 16, 2013 at 10:13 am #

    I like the skinny belt and the no belt options.

  2. RA April 16, 2013 at 10:19 am #

    I like them all! I have a navy shirt dress from Target that I wear all the time, so I am very pro this purchase. 🙂

  3. TraceyCK April 16, 2013 at 11:47 am #

    I like the belt on left using belt loops. I also like the wider belt, but it looks as if it’s pulled too tight – maybe loosen it a bit? you look good with a belt!

  4. audrey April 16, 2013 at 11:56 am #

    I like the middle look, with the wider belt. Definitely think the dress looks better belted than not. What a great dress, though! It’s totally something I wouldn’t pick up off the rack, but seeing it on you makes me want to go try it on for myself. It’s really cute!

  5. Stacey April 16, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

    I like all three as well, I think the skinny belt his my favorite though. I feel the same way about belts but more so with belted cardigans. So cute, but when I do it I feel like, why am I belting a cardigan?

  6. Amy April 16, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

    You can totally pull off the belted look!! I like all 3 options. My favorite is the wider belt. Second, no belt. Third, skinny belt.

  7. manckeinreallife April 16, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

    I like the skinny belt look the best, but that is an all-around cute dress regardless : )

  8. Jenny J. April 16, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

    Thanks for the feedback, friends! Now, what I’d really like to know is why no one bothered to comment on my decidedly chicken-foot like claw that I use to hold my phone when I snap pics? Gosh. That’s rather disturbing…

Comments are closed.

