I Was Not Ready for My Close-Up

15 Apr

I read this review by Brightest Bulb in the Box of Benefit’s Fakeup and thought goddamn, I need to get some of this for my undereye circles.

I finally went to Ulta this weekend and picked some up, in the lightest color available, obviously, since I am a pale lady who lives in a state where it will always be winter forever and ever. There is snow on the ground IN APRIL, and I hate everyone.

Guess what? Not only do I hate everyone, I also hate this product.

Here’s what happened when I tried it on Saturday.

20130415-093346.jpg

Before Benefit Fakeup on the left, After Benefit Fakeup on the right. Hmmm… no discernible difference. That is not what I’m looking for in a small tube of product that costs TWENTY-FOUR DOLLARS.

Maybe I just didn’t apply enough. Maybe I applied it wrong. I tried again Sunday, and again decided it made no difference. (No photo from Sunday.)

Third time’s the charm, right?

20130415-093400.jpg

Before Benefit Fakeup on Saturday morning on the left, After Benefit Fakeup on Monday morning on the right. Third time is NOT the charm. My undereye circles look the same. I shall be returning the Benefit Fakeup and getting my money back.

Have you tried Benefit Fakeup? Did it work for you? Do you have other recommendations I can try?

6 Responses to “I Was Not Ready for My Close-Up”

  1. april April 15, 2013 at 10:10 am #

    Please tell me if you get ANY good recommendations. The circles under my eyes are genetic and terrible and nothing helps. (and from the looks of your photos, mine are aboue 3 times deeper and darker than yours. My son has them too, poor child).

  2. snoozical April 15, 2013 at 11:04 am #

    The problem, R, is that you do not actually HAVE undereye circles. WITCH.

  3. Ginger April 15, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

    I’ve been using Fakeup, and I like it ok. I think the difference is that the darkest part of my circles is closer to my nose rather than right under my eye, so having that part lightened is more “drastic” because there’s kind of a natural highlight thing that happens there. (Wow, that makes so much more sense in my head than written out).

    Anyway, I can see why Fakeup isn’t for everyone. Mostly though, you don’t really look like you have circles!

  4. K April 15, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

    I really like the concealer from Arbonne and it has been the only one I’ve found that is heavy enough to cover dark circles and pretty much anything else I wanted covered up. It costs about the same at the Fake Up, but lasts forever and I’ve been a loyal user for years.

  5. Gretchen April 15, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    This stuff is pretty good, except I trim off most of the bristles/brush and use my finger to dot it on under my eyes.
    http://www.target.com/p/maybelline-dream-lumi-concealer/-/A-13896459

  6. happilyeverme April 16, 2013 at 5:06 pm #

    First, I really don’t see what you’re trying to cover up. THAT might ACTUALLY be the problem. And a good problem to have.

    Second, I went to Benefit for an eyebrow wax this past weekend and had them try Fakeup since I’d heard so much about it. Did not like! I think my skin coloring was a large part of the problem; the formula is too….iridescent or something. It made the problem area more pronounced or something. So we removed it and used the trusted Boi-ing to much better results.

Comments are closed.

