How would you wear this shirt?

11 Apr

Last year I ordered a bunch of stuff from Eddie Bauer and decided to peruse the clearance section before checking out. I liked the look of this Cotton Lawn Tunic, but it wasn’t available in my size. They had the next size up and it was only $3, so I threw it in the cart. Since it’s one size too large and a flowy tunic, I knew I wouldn’t be able to wear it as-is but figured a belt might make it wearable. (My solution to everything is to add a belt.)

For reference, here is the shirt without a belt:

IMG_4523.sq

Not very flattering. I usually wear it with a wide black stretchy belt, like so:

IMG_4529.sq

I’m not sure about the color, though. In person, especially, the black is too much. This shirt seems like it would go better with brown or another color in the “natural” family. It definitely needs a wide belt, though, and I don’t have any wide brown belts.

Do you have any suggestions for how I should wear this shirt? Does the black belt look OK? Should I accept the shirt just isn’t going to work and eat the three dollars?

6 Responses to “How would you wear this shirt?”

  1. ebj123 April 11, 2013 at 1:35 pm #

    Tucked into a skirt! Probably a white skirt, if you have one.

    • Jesabes April 11, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

      With the belt? Will it look ok both belted and tucked in?

      (And can I just start sending you picture texts when I get dressed every morning?)

  2. snoozical April 11, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    I have no fashion tips, except that I’m pretty sure that was the shirt you were wearing when I met you. Which is creepy that I remember, except the reason is because it makes your eyes look AMAZING. So hopefully that is less creepy and more a compliment.

    • Jesabes April 11, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

      Yes, Susie!! I was wearing this shirt when I met you and you saying that about my eyes is actually the reason I kept it:)

  3. Erin April 11, 2013 at 3:34 pm #

    Maybe a white belt? Are those totally out? Or, with a tan one maybe… But I think white would look crisp, and pretty!

  4. Carrie April 11, 2013 at 8:16 pm #

    With shirts that are a little too big on me, I find that tucking it into a skirt (unbelted) tames the volume. I second the suggestion of a white/tan/cognac belt, or it might be interesting to go with a subdued metallic (maybe bronze or silver) belt. Also, what about a fabric sash/scarf? One of my dresses came with a snake-print fabric sash that has proven amazingly versatile … I ended up donating the dress and keeping the sash!

Comments are closed.

