Recommendation: Old Navy dresses

3 Apr

I think everyone has been looking at the Old Navy eyelet dress this spring. It’s cute, for sure. It also is strapless and I have had mixed results with strapless stuff in general and from Old Navy in particular.

cn6096556So, cute as it is, I had to pass. And I’m kind of glad I did. I always hate to be wearing the exact thing everyone else is. Still, I did come home with several of their summer dresses. I don’t expect these to last forever, but they’re cheap, cute and I’ve gotten quite a few compliments on these — enough that I’ll recommend them to you.

First, the fit and flare tee dress, which is the perfect little black dress for summer. It really does feel like you’re wearing a Tshirt, and it’s just long enough for the office. I paired it with a tweedy blazer and flats one day and it was the perfect out for going from work to the park with my kids. I might need more colors, though I’ll probably refrain because I expect this to get pilly quickly and only last a season. We’ll see how it does after more than a couple washes.

cn6139737

 

Next, the heart crepe dress. I know: HEARTS. But the color combination, red and navy, is classic, as is the shape, and to me that makes the print just fun instead of childish. I’m not sure this will make it into the office, but it’ll be fun for weekends and date nights. cn5762363

 

The next one was my Easter dress: the paisley shift dress in pink. I felt a bit like an Easter egg crossed with Mia Farrow. (It’s that shift style. I always think of her.) They have it in blue, too, which is pretty and the picture I grabbed. cn6140049

Finally, I don’t have this linen-blend tank dress and haven’t tried it on. I suspect it would be disastrous on most people, what with the dropped waist and stripes. But I think on the right person — and maybe that’s you — it would be fantastic: easy and chic. cn6238935

 

 

7 Responses to “Recommendation: Old Navy dresses”

  1. RA April 3, 2013 at 10:45 am #

    Yeah, strapless doesn’t work well for me, either, but I did love the sleeveless options. I just have no reason to buy ANOTHER dress, sadly.

    Do you think you’d wear the heart dress for Valentine’s Day next year? 🙂

  2. Melissa April 3, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    Which of these dresses would best hide..belly I can’t seem to work off? I love the fit n flare, but I really don’t know what body types these work for. and I NEED cute clothes for summer.

  3. K April 3, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

    Ohhhhhh. I love that green dress so much.

  4. carri3 April 3, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

    I tried on the fit and flare dress in store and loved it, but didn’t get it due to fear of pilling (I have a jersey skirt from ON that has pilled pretty badly). I hope you post an update on how your dress handles more washing!
    And ditto on the strapless bit … they just do not work for me. I have yet to find a strapless bra that doesn’t slowly work its way down, either. 😦

  5. april April 4, 2013 at 6:50 am #

    Here’s to trying again for leaving a comment.

    I got this dress in the blue stripe and I love it … but I wore it to Disney last weekend and one of the cast members asked me if I was Smee’s wife, which put me off a bit (and I paired it with a raspberry cardigan! and my new Clarks walking shoes!)

    I also bought the eyelet dress in a tank style in raspberry and wore it for Easter w a gold cardigan and gold flats and it was perfect and spring-y. The eyelets kept catching on my MIL’s cabinets though.

    • Hillary April 4, 2013 at 8:48 am #

      I think that blue stripe one is cute. Guys always feel the need to make silly jokes about stripes. My husband calls my black-and-white striped one my jailbird dress. Ignore them.

  6. audrey April 8, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

    I’m hoping to get some Old Navy gift cards for my birthday next week becuase I have my eye on a few of these dresses. I’m so excited to go shopping!

Comments are closed.

