These Boots Are Made For Wearing

2 Apr
Ariat Dixie, $179.95

Ariat Dixie, $179.95

I bought these boots last year on a whim. I’ve never really felt compelled to own cowboy boots, but one day, it struck me. Must. Have. Cowboy. Boots. I found these Ariats and decided to make them my own. Now, almost  a year after purchasing them, I’m finding myself wearing them way more than I ever thought I would.

For starters, my mother-in-law lives very near the quaint little burg of Gruene, Texas where cowboy boots are half-expected and the footwear of choice by many.

Gruene, Texas. Antique shops on every corner and the famed music venue, Gruene Hall at it's center.

Gruene, Texas. Antique shops on every corner and the famed music venue, Gruene Hall at it’s center. (photo courtesy of: http://www.flickriver.com)

So, I wear my boots when we go there to visit. This winter, I found that my boots were the warmest footwear that I owned, so I found myself wearing them with jeans and scarves:

Winter Outfit With Boots

Then, of course there’s Go Texan Day. Here in Houston, Go Texan Day marks the start of the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo, which is a huge,  3-week-long festival of music, rodeos, food–you name it. On Go Texan Day, everyone in town is encouraged to wear their finest western wear. Both of my kids dressed up for school and had parades, so I broke out my boots to get into the spirit.

Yee Haw, Ya'll

Yee Haw, Ya’ll

Many ladies can sincerely pull off the boots and short skirt-look. I’m still iffy on that one. Just for giggles, here’s me taking that look for a spin:

Meh. Why do I feel like a poseur when I wear this?

Meh. Why do I feel like a poseur when I wear this?

So, there you have it: your glimpse into the life of a non-cow-person, who owns cowboy boots and actually wears them sometimes. Do you own cowboy boots? If so, how do you wear them?

