Craving Spring?

5 Mar

I know we’ve only just met and yet, I hate to be that annoying person, gloating (again) about living in a place where winter lasts for a maximum of two weeks (however, you’re free to contact me personally, to brag about your weather during the months of June, July, August, September, October and sometimes November too.). It’s tricky dressing, not only for the temperature, but also for the season–does this make sense? Case in point: Right now, we’re experiencing highs in the upper 60’s under sunny skies–even though it’s technically still winter. Although temperature-appropriate, it just doesn’t feel right to wear my brightly-colored shorts and sandals. Also? I know that neon is hot right now, but the neon, translucent-bluish-white-color that my legs currently are? Totally NOT hot. So, until I can get myself to ye olde Sephora for some self-tanner, shorts ain’t happening.

So, my challenge, living where I do, is to incorporate pops of color into my wardrobe, without looking like I’m just off the plane from a weekend in Cocoa Beach, Florida. Here are some photos of outfits that I’ve been wearing lately, that help scratch my itch for spring, but also are seasonally and temperature-appropriate (for where I live):

L-R: Bright yellow-green capris in heavy rotation; Pop of hot pink cardigan; Mint green button-down under (dorky) Valentine's Day sweater

L-R: Bright yellow-green capris in heavy rotation; Pop of hot pink cardigan; Mint green button-down under (dorky) Valentine’s Day sweater

L-R: Bright aqua blazer to brighten drab outfit; re-purposed asymmetrical tank from last summer, worn under black cardigan; ever-popular neon green/yellow capris, toned down with navy tunic top.

So tell me, how do you incorporate fun color into your wardrobe during the dreary days of winter?

One Response to “Craving Spring?”

  1. RA March 5, 2013 at 3:00 pm #

    I love saturated colors, so I wear them all year round. I LOVE your bright pants! These days, I’m wearing lots of skirts and dresses — albeit, with tights and leggings — to fool myself into thinking that floaty material is appropriate.

Comments are closed.

