6 Recent Purchases

1 Mar

The loot

1. New brown boots: The very day that I published my boots post, the zipper in my old boots bit the dust for good, and I went on a panicked boot-ordering spree. I tried the Fryes I really liked, but they didn’t fit me and felt oddly stiff. So, these Steve Maddens were the winners! I went through a lot of drama trying to find the best price (returning, ordering, getting defective boots, returning, not finding my size anywhere, stalking my returns, etc), but ultimately, I got my boots for a great price, and they make me very happy. They are, however, significantly more jingly than my last pair, and I feel like I announce my presence whenever I walk through the halls at work, clinking away.

2. Colorblock skirt: I am trying to make a habit of buying things when I have a strong instinct that 1) I will love them, and 2) I will really regret it if I hesitate and the item goes out of stock. This skirt was one such purchase. It was on sale for $28 with free shipping, and after some back-and-forth with enabling friends over GChat, I pulled the trigger, and I love it. I love this skirt so much. No regrets!

3. Wrap dress (similar, kind of): I was at Old Navy, returning an online purchase, so of course, I walked through the clearance section. I found this green print wrap dress and dubiously tried it on. Wrap dresses hardly ever fit me because I’m so short, and the wrap section ends up being scandalously low, but hey, now! This one fit! And it was my favorite color, and it was work-appropriate, and it was … $7! Hello! Plus, I had a 15% coupon, so it came in just under $6. WHAT WHAT. I’ve already worn the dress, and I declare it a success.

4. Gray striped tee: I’ve had this item on my list for a long time, and I finally found a winner. A Gap gift card was burning a hole in my pocket, so I went to my local store and grabbed every gray striped shirt in 2 sizes. I think I went to the fitting room with 8-10 shirts in total. Some were eliminated based on fabric weight or neckline (boo, boatnecks), and I ended up with this lightweight, notch-neck tee. I plan on tucking it into skirts, wearing it under cardigans and blazers, or pairing it with jeans and a statement necklace or scarf. Bonus: all tees were 40% off when I bought this, so I didn’t even use up my whole gift card.

5. Berry rain boots: My husband and I went to a beer festival over the weekend, and the forecast showed rain for the entire time: not great when the entire point of the event is to stand outdoors and drink beer. So I went to Target to find what could be found, and I came away with these bright galoshes. I have needed rubber boots for a long time (too many soggy dog walks in my past), and I love these more than is appropriate. As it turned out, the festival organizers went crazy with tents to keep people dry, so I didn’t really need the boots for the beer-tasting, but I sure liked having them.

6. Big brown tote: I’ve been on the hunt for a large, brown, cross-body-style bag, like the one Kayley wore here. While I was looking for rain boots at Target, I spied this bag. It fits the major requirements, but it’s a bit larger than I was looking for, and the fake leather is much more distressed-looking. I brought it home anyway, and I like that it can hold larger items like a binder, my work laptop, or my camera bag insert. It’s not so large that it looks odd on my small frame; it’s more like a messenger bag on me. I sort of wish the large shoulder strap were detachable, but now I question if I would really ever use it without that.  I could always shorten it to be more tote-length. The bag is cheap enough that I don’t mind keeping it, but I’m not 100% sold. What do you think? I haven’t cut the tags off yet.

13 Responses to “6 Recent Purchases”

  1. snoozical March 1, 2013 at 11:01 am #

    I am DEVASTATED that I cannot purchase that wrap dress in the green print shown. WANT.

    • RA March 4, 2013 at 9:34 am #

      Gah, SORRY! Maybe it’s still lurking in the clearance section at a store near you! I did some searching for similar green wrap dresses, but for naught. 😦

  2. badger reader March 1, 2013 at 11:20 am #

    Cute choices! I have Target rain boots as well (in polka dots!) They were awesome for dog walking. Mostly get used for visits to the farm and running errands when I know it is going to be crazy rainy or slushy. I got fleece liners for mine to make them extra cozy. I like those brown boots too, though not sure how I feel about the zipper on the outside.

    • RA March 4, 2013 at 9:35 am #

      My last boots had 2 zippers on each boot (one was fake and didn’t unzip), so I’m okay with the outside zipper. But for whatever reason, this pair’s zipper pull is SO jangly. I’m still getting used to it.

  3. lawyernomore March 1, 2013 at 12:50 pm #

    I love that bag! (And I especially love the second review of it on the website.)

  4. stephanie March 1, 2013 at 1:35 pm #

    I have those same exact rain boots! Same color and everything! No chance to wear them yet, but they are so cute.

    It’s funny you said boo boatnecks… boatnecks are probably the most flattering neckline on me. I say boo v-necks.

  5. Jesabes March 1, 2013 at 10:58 pm #

    Ooh, excellent purchases. I WANT those rain boots.

  6. audrey March 4, 2013 at 1:25 pm #

    I love your new rain boots! It doesn’t rain enough here for me to need a pair, but I kind of want those berry colored ones anyway now that I seem them. So adorable!

  7. Stefanie March 5, 2013 at 6:44 pm #

    I bought that exact same green wrap dress! I paid a whopping $8, though. I feel so robbed. (Heh.) I was actually going to post a picture for you guys, but I don’t have to since you did! My question is, if I want to wear it with chocolate brown boots, and it’s too early in the year to feel comfortable tightless, what color tights would you wear? I have some burgundy ones that I thought might work, but it looks weird. How are you wearing yours?

    • RA March 6, 2013 at 11:36 am #

      I wore mine with navy tights, but I also have gray ones that I would wear. I think burgundy sounds cute! Maybe also mustard? Only a little bit will show between the boot and the hem, you know?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Three-oh for me (oh) | Definitely RA - March 6, 2013

    […] once, I will be able to tell my stylist that, yes, I do have plans after this haircut), wearing my new skirt, and eating amazing food with awesome people. My sister and brother-in-law are coming up for the […]

  2. A Week of Favorites | Style All Over - March 15, 2013

    […] Crew Factory skirt: first time out, but I love it. Instant […]

  3. Carry-on Keeper | Style All Over - March 29, 2013

    […] decided to return the brown tote bag I got from Target recently because I didn’t really love it. It was a little too distressed and casual than what […]

Comments are closed.

