Work Wardrobe Effort

27 Feb

How awesome is your work wardrobe?  And how much do you care?

I’ll go first.  I work for a smallish law firm in downtown Denver.  I pretty much strive to dress well enough to look like I’m trying and feel cute, but that’s about it.  I am actually happy with my work wardrobe overall, but the only thing I’m missing is skirts.  I haven’t worn one skirt all winter.  Part of this is because I never found the perfect pair of black boots this year, but part of it is that I’m never really motivated to put on tights and not be able to sit on my foot at my desk like I can in pants.  I am setting a goal to acquire a few new cute skirts and work-appropriate sandals for the warmer months.

Luckily, Denver is pretty laid back in the fashion department, so I don’t really feel like I have to to try that hard.  When I shop, I’m much more drawn to buying things for my non-work life, but I do try to invest in pieces that can work for both.  I would say I have about 7 pairs of pants in constant rotation, and I mix and match them with several  cardigans, sweaters, and button-downs.  And scarves!

What about you?  Do you dress to seriously impress on the job?  Or do you just do what works and call it good?

2 Responses to “Work Wardrobe Effort”

  1. Becky February 28, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

    I have been making more of an effort lately, really only because I have a new coworker, and he wears suits every day.

  2. RA March 1, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

    My workplace is super casual, so it’s easy to be lazy, but I try to wear blue jeans only once a week. The rest of the time, I wear colored jeans, skirts, and dresses, usually. And even then, I look nicer than most people. I’ve only worn dress pants twice here: my very first day and the time I had to help lead a training and look somewhat professional.

Comments are closed.

