SAO Says: Emerald Trend

22 Feb

How do you feel about emerald, Pantone’s color of the year for 2013?

Emerald Collage

10 emerald items for under $50:
dress, cardigan, shirt, belt, skirt, peeptoes, pants, earrings, ring, jacket

Andrea: I love emerald! Such a beautiful and rich color. I don’t have any specific plans for purchases, although I’ll probably pick up a bottle of emerald nail polish at some point.

RA: My favorite color is green, so I LOVE this trend. Conveniently, I have a lot of clothing in this color already. Unfortunately, I automatically gravitate toward green items in a store, so it will take inhuman self-restraint not to buy everything out there this year.

Becky: I love emerald green and really want some green pants. I think emerald green goes with almost everything.

Jes: I used to try to wear emerald, because my mom looks great in it and therefore has a lot of it. I have a completely different complexion, though, and it just doesn’t work. When I finally realized it wasn’t a question of finding the right emerald item and I just shouldn’t wear it at all, I wondered why I didn’t realize long ago!

N: I guess I’m not entirely sure what the “color of the year” entails, but as far as emerald, I love it!  I don’t have much green in my wardrobe at all, and generally stay away from it, but I did recently buy an emerald sweater, and it’s one of my new favorite items.  This shade of green works for me — I actually look awake in jewel tones!

Jenny J: I’ve long been a fan of emerald green. My eyes are sort of an emerald green color, so it’s always been my go-to, slam-dunk color for clothing. Now that I think about it though, I don’t know of anyone who doesn’t look good in emerald. It seems to be universally flattering for all complexions and just a pleasant, crowd-pleasing color all around. BTW, here’s gorgeous example of a ridiculously lovely Valentino in emerald green.

Hillary: I’m a big fan of any jewel tone; they all look nice with my dark hair and pale skin. What I really like about emerald is that it looks sharp with both black and navy. I only have one emerald shirt, but it’s a go-to shirt any time I want something to brighten up my navy suit or a plain black pencil skirt.

4 Responses to “SAO Says: Emerald Trend”

  1. Andrea February 22, 2013 at 9:19 am #

    I think I might need those earrings. And an emerald cardigan. 🙂

    • RA February 22, 2013 at 9:24 am #

      That cardigan is one of my FAVORITE things at J. Crew Factory! Get it! I have it in 2 colors already, and I wish they had it now in a real white (instead of that strange dusty gray), because I would SNAP IT RIGHT UP at this price!

  2. Becky February 22, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

    I love that skirt. LOVE LOVE LOVE.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Minty Fresh | Style All Over - March 4, 2013

    […] realize we just did a post about emerald green, but mint green is everywhere right now too. It’s a HUGE color for spring. It was big in […]

Comments are closed.

