Face It

19 Feb

I am not a makeup guru by any means. My idea of makeup is moisturizer, blush, eyeliner, and mascara. I must always always have mascara. Some people feel that way about lipstick. I do not. I am jealous of people who can wear lipstick but I feel like I have oddly shaped lips that does not hold lipstick well.

And also my hair gets stuck in it when it’s lip gloss and I don’t like that.

I have really good lashes though. There’s not a lot about my body that I really love (the bottom of my ass will be hitting the back of my knees soon) but I really do love my lashes. I’ve been wearing Revlon Mascara for years.

I don’t know about you but my skin is very dry in the winter. I get tiny rough patches on my face if I don’t moisturize it really good. For that I use Say Yes to the Cucumbers. It works really well. My issue is that I cannot figure out how I feel about cover-up. I wore it in high school but then in my 20’s Iet it go. I did not like the way it felt. I’ve been trying to figure out something since that gives me a more finished look and evens out my skin tone. The solution has always been some lightly dusting of loose powder or press powder but that tends to dry my skin out even more and that’s not what I need. To be honest, I enjoy my face the best when it’s tan and my freckles are sparkling. This would be around July. So I get maybe 2 good months of prompt freckling and then I’m done for the year.

Last week I found myself in the HBC section looking to replace my face wash which deemed to be discontinued or not on the shelf when I came across a tinted moisterizer. I ended up going with the BB cream by Garnier and I love it. I love it because it’s really light and thin. It doesn’t completely cover up my freckles but I still feel even. I haven’t broken out from it! I feel like it gives my blush something to hold on to. It also extra moisturizes which I need.

What are your favorite face products? What do you have to have (me and mascara) or what can you do without (me and lipstick)?

And do you change it up based on your outfit?

5 Responses to “Face It”

  1. Jenny J. February 19, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

    I LURVE my Nars Tinted Moisturizer (http://www.sephora.com/pure-radiant-tinted-moisturizer-spf-30-pa-P302923?skuId=1396399 ). It’s been known to give some people odd breakouts, but I haven’t had that issue at all. I wear it for day and even night. It gives my skin a dewy glow that I’m kind of obsessed with (is that weird?).

  2. Jesabes February 19, 2013 at 9:58 pm #

    BB cream is awesome. My favorite is the Dr. Jart water fuse+ or something like that. I’m torn as to whether it’s worth the extra money vs the Garnier, though, because that’s pretty great, too.

  3. Maria February 19, 2013 at 10:35 pm #

    I like the Loreal bb cream

  4. Melissa February 20, 2013 at 9:54 am #

    So BB cream replaces…moisturizer, foundation, powder, concealer? is that right? I just bought a new moisturizer but I don’t love it and I never use the rest of those things..but if I could get it all in one product..and smooth out (the appearance of) my skin..I might have to try that. It’s so cold/dry in Iowa right now, I need something,but I’m super lazy and a moron about these things.

    • N February 21, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

      I use L’oreal BB Cream and I still need a moisturizer under it, and a little powder over it to control shine (probably due to the moisturizer.). But I am in Colorado where it is exceptionally dry. It’s definitely worth trying a drugstore level brand!

Comments are closed.

