Good Parenting

11 Feb

Some day (maybe tonight) (don’t get your hopes up) I will finally post about navy and white striped shirts. I’m obsessed. And they’re everywhere. But today I have a random non-style-related story.

I was reading a book to the kids. The book is about how everybody is different, but that’s ok. It was a baby shower gift from a super duper hippie kumbaya friendly acquaintance. One page says, “Some people are adopted.”

I asked Ren, my four-year-old son if he knew what adoption is. He said he thought it was when one person was really big and one was really small. Which sounds like a very strange guess, but the picture on that page of the book was of one really big person and one really small one.

Anyway, I said no, adoption is when one mommy has a baby in her tummy (age 4 is too young to talk about uteruses, maybe), and then when the baby is born, the mommy gives the baby to a different mommy to live with.

Ren said, “Yeah! Remember when I was in Grandma Judy’s tummy, and then I crawled out onto the floor of Target? Then Grandma Judy drove me home to live with you?”

I answered sagely and wisely. “Sure, bud.”

20130211-092527.jpg
Blurry “fashion” photo!

3 Responses to “Good Parenting”

  1. K February 11, 2013 at 10:54 am #

    There is so much to love about this post.

    First, I am also addicted to blue and white striped shirts. They go WITH EVERYTHING and I love them long time.

    The second is Ren’s birth at Target. There is surrogacy by one’s grandparent THEN birth in a major box store THEN his up and crawling immediately afterwards THEN his mastery of directions as a newborn. Astounding.

    Lastly, on the way to school last week, Ezra asked me how babies actually come out. I told him that doctors help mom’s know when babies are ready and Iris came out of the top of my belly and he came out of the “bottom.” He accepted this and it totally bought me some time. PHEW.

  2. Andrea February 11, 2013 at 11:26 am #

    Oh Ren! This is exactly why you need to start your personal blog back up. 🙂

  3. Stefanie February 11, 2013 at 11:53 am #

    This amuses (and confuses) me no end.

Comments are closed.

