Advice needed – too big boots

7 Feb

I have been in need of some new boots for a long time. You can only cover up so many scuffs and nicks with a black Sharpie and the heel was starting to wear out. I probably could have gotten the heel fixed but the cracked and peeling pleather that is conveniently covered by my jeans was really the tipping point. I needed new boots. Bad.

But I was too lazy to shop in store for a new pair. Well to be honest, I glanced around when I’d go to the mall. But I didn’t need knee high boots, and I didn’t need booties with metallic spikes on the stiletto heel.  So needless to say, I wasn’t seeing what I wanted in the stores, and I turned to the internet. When I saw these Naturalizer Boots on sale online, I went ahead and bought them. Depending on shoe brands, I wear an 8.5 or a 9, and they only had a 9, so I went with it. They felt ok when I tried them on so I promptly threw away all the paperwork. And I even wore them out to dinner that night. But when I wore them for a full day, I realized that they were indeed a tad too big, so I spent the whole day cranky that my boots were loose and were eating my socks.

I did wear them once successfully and comfortably with 2 pairs of socks (a thin dress sock, topped with an athletic crew sock), but ended up rubbing holes in the outer sock layer, and throwing a pair of socks away every time I wear the boots isn’t an option.

So what do I do? Is there anything that will help me with the size issue?

5 Responses to “Advice needed – too big boots”

  1. april February 7, 2013 at 12:31 pm #

    Gel inserts? They take up space and would keep them comfortable.

    • Andrea February 7, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

      I have never bought gel inserts. I’ll have to give it a try.

    • Jesabes February 7, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

      I’ll have to try that with my too-big shoes as well. They’re not boots, but inserts might work!

  2. Polín February 7, 2013 at 7:18 pm #

    Yep, I would say inserts too. Gelling, anyone? 🙂

  3. Sarah February 7, 2013 at 11:04 pm #

    I’d love to know the answer to this question as well. My Ferragamo riding boots are a bit large and the only thing the store suggested was an insert (albeit, not gel) which was not helpful. That said, I’ve been meaning to try gel.

Comments are closed.

