What Do You Wear on the Coldest Day of the Year

21 Jan

The windchill this morning was -30 degrees F. Negative 30. I can’t repeat that enough: NEGATIVE 30.

So obviously I was really excited to put on my favorite cute outfit today. Ha! Just kidding! I am more like how many layers can I wear at one time? Could I BE wearing any more clothes!*

Here’s what I decided on. Keep in mind that I have to be at work today, but I knew a lot of people (including my boss) took the day off. (My boss is in San Francisco today, and I hate him a little bit because he is playing golf, while my face actually hurts from walking outside through the parking lot to my building.) (I don’t actually hate my boss; he is an awesome boss.)

Outfit!

20130121-100528.jpg

20130121-100555.jpg

I am wearing:
– flat, ugly hair due to crazy weather and sucky shampoo at the gym
– huge, unattractive sweater from Old Navy 4 years ago that I never wear but keep just in case of… I don’t know
– a Chaus 3/4 sleeve wrap shirt (similar here: Amazon
– Lands End starfish pants
– Cole Haan Air Margot Pump from Off Fifth ( Saks Fifth Ave’s outlet) – if you want them in red patent, which I highly recommend, they’re $75 today! (down from $248)

4 Responses to “What Do You Wear on the Coldest Day of the Year”

  1. Katie January 21, 2013 at 11:32 am #

    It was officially cold enough that the weather combined with the email I got last Friday from work saying that the heat would be on but the construction would be loud means that I’m working at home. But I super like your shirt! Stay warm!

  2. RA January 21, 2013 at 11:36 am #

    NEGATIVE THIRTY OMG. That is ridiculous, and I say that as a hardened New Englander. Although I am not sort of a softened mid-Atlantican now, so I’m not sure how reliable I am. Whatever. That is freaking cold. My strategy this week is BOOTS plus whatever else, I don’t even care.

  3. Stefanie January 21, 2013 at 11:38 am #

    You’re at work today too, huh? Solidarity, sister.

  4. Lisa C January 29, 2013 at 12:33 pm #

    Negative 30? I would be wearing that outfit plus an undershirt, probably a light cardigan underneath the heavy cardigan, and some decorative scarf around my neck. Look at all the heat you are losing with that skin exposed by the demure v-neck! Also, thick socks and boots.

    I am weak now that I live in California. Its sixty degrees here and you and I are wearing the same outfit.

Comments are closed.

