Beyond Victoria’s Secret

17 Jan

VS

I’m not always the most perceptive, but I have noticed that once you’re past a certain age (and I’m talking 25 here, maybe 30) you’re supposed to be too classy for Victoria’s Secret. Certainly as far as bras go, you’re theoretically supposed to be looking for higher quality in both the fitting process and product. Is this right? I mean, my current bras come from Motherhood Maternity and have clips for nursing, so clearly I’m not one to talk. My underwear also may be from a certain low-budget maternity store and, no, I have not been pregnant for 18 months now. (They’re comfortable, okay?)

Honestly, being as I’ve always believed no one should ever have words on their behind, I was never much of a Victoria’s Secret shopper. Still, with no Nordstroms nearby to go to for a bra fitting (sob), can you help a lady out? Where should I go?

(photo credit: Victoria’s Secret. All of the Nordstrom ones had actual ladies in the bra and I didn’t feel like hitting you with that unexpectedly.)

5 Responses to “Beyond Victoria’s Secret”

  1. Julie Short (@mavsmom) January 17, 2013 at 11:15 am #

    If you have a Dillard’s nearby, they normally have someone who can fit you. They may not be as good as the ones at Nordstrom but they are at least helpful.

  2. Lisa January 17, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

    Yes. Dillards. DON’T go to VS for a bra fitting; they’re the worst.

  3. Lisa January 17, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

    For those with big b00bs, I have found this measuring system to be the best. I had a breast reduction in 2001, and before I did, I could never buy bras that fit me. EVER. So I measured using these tips, and found out i was a 32J and the only place I could buy bras and not have to take out a second mortgage was online from UK manufacturers (I was a 32G in their sizing).

    http://www.plussizebras.info/measure.html

  4. Melissa January 17, 2013 at 12:28 pm #

    We have a Bali/Hanes/Leggs store in a nearby (45min) outlet mall that I go to. All kinds of bra choices, brands, styles, sizes for women with real boobs. I don’t like VS anymore because my boobs aren’t what they used to be and VS can’t contain ’em.

    • Jesabes January 31, 2013 at 10:30 am #

      I meant to reply to this immediately and kept forgetting! Is that in Williamsburg? We stop there a few times a year.

Comments are closed.

