Black Boots – Finally! (I hope)

2 Jan

It is now January and I have been searching for the right pair of black boots since September.  Has anyone else had this problem this year?  I probably have only myself to blame, given my general aversion to obvious trends and anything blingy.  I just found most of the black boots out there were either too motorcycle-y, too riding-y, or too blingy.  I don’t mind a little metal detail usually, but I always try to get the most bang for my buck out of my purchases, so I wanted the boots to be work-appropriate as well.  YES, I AM FRUGAL AND BORING.

I am not lying when I say I have been looking EVERYWHERE.  In stores, on-line, on people in public places.  I couldn’t even find a pair of Fryes I liked.  (I KNOW.)  I actually ordered a pair of seemingly perfect Nine West boots, only to find the zipper to be too. . .prominent.  It went all the way up the back and was exposed metal.  The boots were still cute, but I couldn’t get past the thought that they were slightly over the street-walker line, and therefore not appropriate for my work place.

I love my brown boots.  LOVE them.  I have had them about three years now and I still wear them all the time in the winter and get compliments on them constantly.  They are a cognac color, have just enough heel and the perfect toe shape, and were around $100.  They are by Arturo Chiang, which is only sold a few places (Dillards, Amazon, Piperlime.)  So I checked out that brand and think I have finally found the right pair.  I ordered them this weekend (on sale for $89!), so we’ll see next week if I’m right.

Arturo Chiang "Sam"

Arturo Chiang “Sam”

What black boots have you loved this year?

 

5 Responses to “Black Boots – Finally! (I hope)”

  1. Jesabes January 2, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

    I’m on the hunt for gold/camel-colored boots. I need a light neutral, because, while I have black boots I LOVE, I don’t have anything like that.

  2. RA January 2, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

    Ooh, definitely keep us posted on how they work out!

  3. ebj123 January 2, 2013 at 2:26 pm #

    I have been looking for black boots for so long, but these are arriving Friday at my house and I hope I love them. http://shop.nordstrom.com/s/enzo-angiolini-saylem-riding-boot/3098009?origin=keywordsearch&contextualcategoryid=0&fashionColor=Tan+Leather&resultback=0

    • Lawyernomore January 2, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

      Ooh I like those. Also in the gray color!

  4. PinkieBling January 2, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

    I haven’t been looking for them this year, but it seems like a TON of other people have, largely without success. Hope the latest pair works out for you!

Comments are closed.

