Nice or Creepy?

11 Dec

The job I have is temporary. I should be done mid January and I think the saddest thing about this ending is less about the money/experience and more about the person I work with every day. I am so lucky to work with such a great person. I feel lucky to have worked with her not just because I have learned so much from her but because our personalities compliment each other well and it was really what I needed during these last few months. She’s older so she feels like a mentor and she’s very understanding. She’s also a silver fox which with my amount of grey hair NOW, I can sort of see myself maybe being a silver fox in the future.  The far away future. Also? I have worked with some real jerks in the past so this was refreshing!

I want to get her something for Christmas but I’m not sure what. I tried to kind of pry during one of our many conversations to see if she collects anything or is drawn to anything specific but to no avail. I did notice recently though that she is often complimenting me on my scarves. I didn’t realize how much I loved them until I had worn one everyday that week so I decided to NOT wear one on Friday. Which was difficult. She also wears scarves often so I thought it might be a good idea to to get her one! But I don’t want to spend a lot. Let’s see:

Gap has a these two that I do like, but they are pricey.

cn5686989

 

cn5736880

 

Man, I really like that blue and black one…but this is not for me. NOT FOR ME.

I recently read on a blog that World Market had scarves. I thought this was odd, but let’s check it out.

Wow, decent prices and free shipping!

D30 PRAYER SHAWLS              457434_PRAYER_SHAWL_TEAL

 

She did really love my infinity scarf, I don’t like this color too much, but I think she would.

28105_XXX_v1-w2000

 

I’m kind of impressed, World Market.

Okay, let’s try Old Navy.

I do like this one. Red for her, I might like the black and white for me, IF this was for me. The price is good too!

cn5830874

 

One last stop.

Target.

Oh look! Here’s the infinity scarf I have that she loved.

14151747_120913103000

And it’s also a decent price! Maybe it’s too creepy to buy her the same one.

I could see her in this one:

14151768_120901023000

 

That was actually successful scarf shopping. I think I will hit up Target first.

What do you think about workplace Christmas gifts? Do you think it’s creepy to buy your boss or coworker a gift?

I’m not going to do it if you think it’s creepy.

13 days to go!!

Happy Shopping!

5 Responses to “Nice or Creepy?”

  1. Jesabes December 12, 2012 at 12:03 am #

    Not creepy! I think it would be nice. It might be a little awkward, though, if she hasn’t gotten you anything and suddenly feels the need to run out and buy something for you to reciprocate. I’d just emphasize you wanted to thank her for all her mentoring (or however you want to put it) and there’s no need for her to get a you a gift in return.

    • PinkieBling December 12, 2012 at 11:48 am #

      This, exactly.

  2. April December 12, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    I think it’s very nice and not creepy at all. And scarves are excellent!

  3. RA December 12, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    I think it would be nice, and a scarf is the perfect balance of generic (one size fits all) and personal (you know what kind of colors she would like). Go for it!

  4. styleallovery December 12, 2012 at 11:04 am #

    I agree with everyone else. Not creepy!

Comments are closed.

