Black Friday Awesomeness at Banana Republic Outlet

7 Dec

We spend Thanksgiving with my husband’s family every year, and on Black Friday, the women go shopping. Even though we never went at midnight or even the crack of dawn, we used to be a lot more hardcore about it. During the drive to the mall, we’d strategize about where to park, which route to take, meeting points if we got separated, and what kind of items everyone was looking for. Once at the mall, we would all bob and weave to optimize coverage. If I knew that a cousin was looking for a striped sweater, I grabbed anything that she might like or fit, and we would converge at the fitting rooms. We split up and combined orders to get the best bang out of our coupons, and after a few hours, we felt very accomplished, indeed.

In the past few years, though, the intensity has gone down, and a few of us just wander around for a while before going out for lunch. Maybe we buy things, maybe not. We don’t fight crowds any more, though. The checkout line at Old Navy was so bad this year that when my sister-in-law said, “Does anybody really want anything here?”, we just shook our heads and left. Ah, we can’t hack it any more.

Nonetheless, I managed to find some great deals at the Banana Republic outlet.

Banana Republic outlet sweater, Shade tee underneath, Target skinny jeans, Enzo Angiolini (via Piperlime) boots

Banana Republic outlet sweater, Shade tee underneath, Target skinny jeans, Enzo Angiolini (via Piperlime) boots

My SIL and I both got these sweater-sweatshirt-y thingies, and I love mine. It’s nice enough to pass as a put-together sweater, but it feels like a beloved hoodie. I love the shawl collar, the big buttons at the neckline, and the pockets. I probably should have gotten mine in a different color because I have a lot of teal already, but whatever, teal speaks to me. Best of all, it was marked down to $15 (originally $50)!

Gap outlet sweater, Anthropologie skirt, Banana Republic outlet belt, J. Crew necklace, Forever 21 leggings, Enzo Angiolini boots (via Piperlime)

Gap outlet sweater, Anthropologie skirt, Banana Republic outlet belt, J. Crew amber necklace, Forever 21 gray leggings, Enzo Angiolini (via Piperlime) boots

For a while now, when I’ve needed a chunky belt, I’ve been borrowing my husband’s brown belt and looping it all around to get rid of the extra length as necessary. I just couldn’t find a thick-ish, plain brown belt that I liked and wasn’t over $30. Sorry, but no, I am not paying that much for a belt. And then finally, it occurred to me that I should just look for, duh, a men’s belt. At the outlet, I spied a rack of men’s belts in the clearance section on a day when all clearance items had an additional 40% off. Yes! So I scored this brown belt for a whopping $6 (originally $30).

Banana Republic outlet dress, LOFT cardigan, Anthro belt, Target gray tights, Naturalizer boots

Banana Republic outlet dress, LOFT cardigan, Anthropologie belt, Target gray tights, Naturalizer boots

I’ve been looking for a green dress for maybe 5 years because green is my favorite color, and it seems wrong that I don’t have a go-to dress in it. But nothing has really come up as The One, so the search has been on the back burner. But on Black Friday, in the clearance section, I found a green, sleeveless dress in a stretchy polyester knit, and it was my size. My hypothetical ideal green dress wasn’t so slinky, but then I tried this one on, and, wow. I could imagine wearing it with heels and sparkly jewelry at a wedding, with flat metallic sandals and big earrings for a summer date, with flats and a cardigan at the office, and even pumps and a blazer at work event. The cowl neck wasn’t so cowl-y that I couldn’t layer over it and create a fake green skirt. It came with a belt of the same material, but I could imagine pairing different belts with it instead. And the dress was so green! There was no way I was leaving without it. That’s when I examined the price tag. Originally $70, the dress had been marked down to $23, but with the extra 40% off, it was … FOURTEEN DOLLARS. Woo!

2 Responses to “Black Friday Awesomeness at Banana Republic Outlet”

  1. Becky December 7, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    Everything is great, but I LOOOOVE the shawl collar sweater.

  2. Audrey December 7, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    Nice job shopping! I LOVE that green dress on you. It’s so very RA!

Comments are closed.

