Style Confessions

6 Dec

I happened across this post the other day about plaid shirts, which made me feel like I need to get a few things off my chest.

Style Confession #1:  I don’t like plaid.

Yes, it’s true. I avoid plaid. I’m not sure if it’s because I am scarred by attending college in the early 1990s, where plaid flannel was all but a uniform (and often worn with overalls!), or what, so I just can’t imagine going back there.

plaid

I realize this is kind of irrational, because look, isn’t this kind of cute? It is NOT the baggy flannel of 1992! (Photo credit: C&CCalifornia.com)

And while we’re on the topic, I also avoid floral prints and chambray. I don’t always know WHY I do this, but when you look in my closet you won’t see anything fitting any of those descriptions.

I do actually like prints, though. Abstract prints, stripes, polka dots, as well as color-blocked items are all fair game!

Style Confession #2: I wear white jeans all year long.

I know the “don’t wear white after Labor Day” rule is really not a rule anymore, which I have taken to heart. I wear my white jeans WELL into fall and sometimes in December. I think it looks clean to wear white jeans, a black sweater and a scarf in a bright color. There, I said it. I feel better now.

Style Confession #3: I sometimes wear ugly shoes in the name of comfort.

You can pry my Ugg boots and my Toms out of my cold dead hands, I tell ya. No, they are not the height of fashion, but now that I’m a cranky old lady of 39 years old, I refuse to be uncomfortable in my footwear. *Tiny voice* (I have even worn my Toms to the office and considered buying a pair of Birkenstocks.)

Now, I will say that I also own work shoes by both Easy Spirit and Aerosoles, and they are in my opinion SUPER CUTE. I’m not going to all of a sudden go out in search of orthopedic footwear, but look at these!

 

 

easyspirit

(Photo credit: easyspirit.com)

Cute, yes?

OK, now that I’ve unburdened myself, and live in fear that you will unfriend me for my taste in footwear, please share with me some of YOUR style confessions. Spill!

2 Responses to “Style Confessions”

  1. N December 6, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

    I recently bought some CUTE and comfy Naturalizer pumps, and I will never give up my Uggs!

  2. K December 6, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

    I recently bought two plaid shirts from the Gap and they have a lovely ruffled collar and are the perfect slim fit. Not too baggy and feminine enough for skinny jeans. I love them.

    (Also, college fashion in the early ’90s was ROUGH.)

Comments are closed.

