What do you wear for the holidays?

5 Dec

Okay, full disclosure: my little sister just had her first baby so my 16 month old son and I went to Portland for the weekend to meet her and I did not fully prepare to post this week!  So!  I am going to ask you about something that I was thinking about the other day – what do you wear on the ACTUAL day of holiday celebration?  I mean, these days usually involve a lot of sitting around, visiting, board games, eating, etc.  It’s not like you are going out on the town, except maybe for a matinee, right?  When I was younger, it seemed like we always at least dressed up a bit to go to Grandma’s and do our sitting around.  I’ve hosted quite a few holiday gatherings, and even though I’m cooking all day and entertaining, I still like to look nice (and as comfortable as I can be.)  But this year, we are staying home and it will be just the three of us.  We’re going to do a full blown holiday celebration, but it’s just us, you know?  Should I plan a nice outfit?

I want to know:  What’s it like in your family?  Do you all show off your new Christmas sweaters?  Do you don your finest Martha Stewart Holidays picture-perfect attire?  Do you go the practical route and wear your stretchy pants?  I realize it can vary depending on the company you keep, but what’s the “average” for your family?

8 Responses to “What do you wear for the holidays?”

  1. Jesabes December 5, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    Well, I also have not prepared a post and I think this is the perfect idea, so if you don’t mind, I’ll write about what I’m wearing on Christmas in my post on Thursday!

    (I hope it’s Thursday. I’ve kind of lost track. Could have been last week. I hope not.)

    • Jesabes December 5, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

      Ha! You know how out of it I am? I just now realized Thursday is tomorrow. I thought today was Tuesday! (December is too busy.)

  2. April December 5, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

    We will be going to my in-laws like we do for every holiday, and we usually dress nice but not in our finest – business casual, or so? I’ll probably wear heels, a nice sweater and jeans.

  3. Audrey December 5, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    I typically wear jeans and a nice sweater, but don’t bother to put on shoes if we’re not leaving the house. One of my favorite Christmas memories, though, is the year all of our extended family was out of town, and it was just my brother, my parents, and me. My parents cooked a non-traditional (but extra delicious) dinner, and my brother and I stayed in our pajamas all day. It was wonderful.

  4. Ginger December 5, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

    We almost never travel anywhere other than whatever house we did Christmas morning at, so it’s usually pajamas during the morning & then loungewear and/or jeans during the day (usually only jeans if we’re going to a movie or something).

  5. PinkieBling December 5, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

    Pajamas and loungewear!

  6. Andrea December 6, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    We wear pretty much what we wear every other day. So casual.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How many outfits do you need for Christmas this year? « Style All Over - December 6, 2012

    […] thanks to lawyernomore for coming up with the idea for my post […]

Comments are closed.

