Yay or Nay: Patterned Tights

4 Dec

I’ve seen this trend around the office lately and I am unsettled by it.

Tights with subtler patterns, like these polka dots, are less jarring for me. Though I think if you’re wearing white tights with dots, you might look like an over-grown 3 year old.

Polka dot tightswhite tights

But I’ve seen wild patterned tights and leggings on legs around the office. One pair had olive patterning on a beige-toned background and it did look a lot like the wearer had gangrene.

Peacock Tightsfloral tights

My taste in clothing tends towards the boring. Most of my pants/tights/skirts/leggings are dark neutrals– there’s a lot of black, gray, and brown in there, and certainly nothing bolder than navy.

Am I being too stodgy and boring? Is patterned hosiery a good way to integrate some color into my shades-of-dull wardrobe?

12 Responses to “Yay or Nay: Patterned Tights”

  1. RA December 4, 2012 at 11:43 am #

    Urgh. I’m not sure about this. I have a pair of gray/black herringbone tights, but that’s as far as I can go in any environment, not just work. I feel like grown-up women can go with either bright color or interesting pattern/texture, but not both, if they want to be taken seriously. If that makes sense.

    • Andrea December 4, 2012 at 11:45 am #

      Yes!! It would be hard for me to take someone seriously if they were wearing those lace tights.

  2. Andrea December 4, 2012 at 11:44 am #

    To be honest, my style is pretty boring too. I could handle the tiny polka dots, or maybe a sewn in argyle pattern (in the same color as the rest of the tights). A well coordinated solid color gets a pass from me too. However, I’m going full-on judgey here on lace, flowery, or wild patterned tights. I roll my eyes so hard when I see someone wearing those and think the person is trying WAY too hard. It just looks ridiculous.

  3. Hillary December 4, 2012 at 11:53 am #

    I love patterned tights. I love tights in general. But I think it depends on the setting. I would not wear my hot pink patterned tights to a biz meeting — but I might on a Friday, mostly covered by boots. And I definitely do wear them out on a weekend.

    • Andrea December 4, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

      I’m more comfortable with the idea of them being mostly covered up than I am with full leg showing out of a tiny mini skirt. So maybe I’m not completely against them, it just depends how they are styled.

    • Buster December 4, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

      I like the idea of wearing a pair of colored tights and showing showing a peek of them between the hem of my skirt and the top of my boots – it’s much more subtle than showing a whole leg of crazy patterns.

  4. April December 4, 2012 at 11:56 am #

    There are some adorable maroon polka dotted tights at gap that I almost got. But I am not comfortable enough to wear patterned tights. I’m an old lady.

  5. Melissa December 4, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    I love tights. I have some bright pink tights I wear with black skirts and some top I have yet to find. I also have brown tights and this crazy sort of psychedelic patterned pair. I would love to wear that with a solid colored sweaterdress, I just haven’t found that yet. Most of the time they’re largely covered by boots, I can’t really see having super pattered feet coming out of heels or something.

  6. Jesabes December 4, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

    I kind of like them, but definitely not on me. I can’t pull that off.

  7. Laura Diniwilk December 4, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    I love tights, even in an office setting, but I think you have to be careful about the pattern. My coworker wore a pair a few weeks ago that totally looked like she had tattoos down the sides of both legs and I made fun of her all day. Because I’m an awesome coworker.

  8. Becky December 4, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

    I like (some of) them. As others have mentioned, it totally depends upon the setting. I’m personally still pissed that Laura made fun of me at work, but whatever. (haha)

  9. meagangracie December 7, 2012 at 11:26 am #

    I love patterned tights but I’m getting a lot more hesitant about wearing them at work as I get older. For one thing, men have made comments about liking to see them, which makes me feel like they’re paying way too much attention to my legs for my comfort. Lace and diamond prints are feeling too risque, too. Stripes and polka dots I’m still good with, or herringbone or argyle.

Comments are closed.

