Practical Magic

2 Dec

H asked me what I wanted for Christmas, and I said there was a green purse I liked, or I would also like a new pair of black heels for work. I sent H a link to the purse I liked, and he asked around at work or something, and a coworker gave him a coupon for $100 off that she wasn’t going to use. So he ordered the purse and was super excited and told me about it, knowing that I’d like the fact that he got a good deal at least as much as I’d like the purse.

Here’s the purse.

Emerald crossbody

Stupid Coach I hate you


It’s a Coach Legacy Leather Duffle in Emerald. I don’t own any Coach purses. I tend to think they’re overpriced, and I don’t care for purses with logos all over them. Ok, that’s not really fair. I tend to think ALL purses are overpriced. I have a Cole Haan purse right now, which is pretty fancy, I guess, but I only paid $100 for it. ANYWAY, not sure why I’m all defensive about that. I think this green purse is freaking gorgeous. But I’m pissed at Coach for claiming it’s suddenly out of stock when it’s still in stock in stores, just not online, where H has a coupon. Highly suspect. Ok, minorly suspect.

The point of this story is that I’m thinking of new things to suggest that H buy me. If you know me, you may be aware that I love practical gifts. I am honestly the person that would ask for a vacuum for Christmas and be super happy if I got one (but only if I actually needed a vacuum). My mom is the same way. One year I got her sawhorses for Christmas because she really, really wanted them. H was convinced that my mom was going to be super pissed that I got her sawhorses. He was there when she opened them and got to see how happy she was about sawhorses. Yet, after 10 years together, he still thinks I’m tricking him when I ask for practical things. Thus, we compromise and I ask him for less practical things usually.

Where are you going with this, Becky? Is there a point to these stories?

No, not really.

Now I’m thinking of asking for a watch. I showed him two that I really like at Nordstrom.

20121202-220649.jpg
First is the DKNY sparkle strap watch for $135.

20121202-220726.jpg
Second is the Fossil Stella rose gold multifunction watch for $125.

Do you like practical gifts? Or are the holidays your opportunity to ask for something purely fun?

17 Responses to “Practical Magic”

  1. Lisa C December 3, 2012 at 12:23 am #

    I asked for a sofa last year, and some dining chairs this year, so I guess I am the practical sort.

  2. Laura Diniwilk December 3, 2012 at 4:59 am #

    I have been eyeballing that exact same watch! I have stuff like pens and chargers and a steam mop on my list. Practical. indeed.

    • Becky December 3, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

      Ooo! Steam mop! That was on my birthday wish list last year, but H deemed it too practical. Boo.

  3. Melissa December 3, 2012 at 9:17 am #

    Practical gifts make me feel like I am getting a gift but not being wasteful on something super frivolous. A purse is an excellent idea – totally functional but also beautiful.This year I want nothing – I want to buy my own gifts, specifically some Hold Your Haunches leggings and Tieks flats. I’ll probably wait until Spring to actually buy those, and space them out, but I don’t mind.

    • Becky December 3, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

      I wouldn’t trust my husband to buy me the right leggings. =)

  4. April December 3, 2012 at 9:32 am #

    I got knives this year, and a Bluetooth keyboard for my iPad. We bought our own gifts this year during BF shopping, and I thought I would hate it but so far I’m not sad about not opening things on Christmas at all!

  5. K December 3, 2012 at 9:33 am #

    I asked for this watch for Christmas: http://www.fossil.com/en_US/shop/women/categories/watch_styles/color_watches/stella_silicone_watch_fuchsia-es3214p.html?parent_category_rn=331106&departmentCategoryId=&beginIndex=0&pageSize=1000&pn=c&cm_vc=353084&imagePath=ES3214

    But now I’m thinking of telling T to scrap it as that gold sparkle watch is quite possibly the best thing I’ve ever spotted. (I actually said, “Shut the front door!” when I scrolled down and saw it.)

    • Becky December 3, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

      I like that watch too.

  6. flurrious December 3, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    I like practical gifts, but I never get them. I’m still waiting for someone to give me a ladder.

    Coach purses are overpriced now, but they used to be worth the money. About the time they started putting their logo all over the outside, they also started using cheaper leather and fabric linings. I’m surprised that they’re saying the purse you want is out of stock online but in stock in stores since the stores seem to be mainly for display these days anyway. I never find much I want there anymore, but the last couple of times I have, the salesperson told me I’d have to order it from their website.

  7. Julie Short (@mavsmom) December 3, 2012 at 10:34 am #

    So just out of curiosity, I went to the site and added that purse to my bag and it shows it in stock on the website. You may want him to check it out again.

    • Becky December 3, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

      H got an e-mail in the middle of the not telling him that the purse had been shipped, so we have no idea what’s going on now.

  8. babyhoot December 3, 2012 at 10:34 am #

    I want both a practical gift and something that I don’t have to pick out myself. And I like to be surprised. So if Baxter could come up with a practical-ish gift that I didn’t think of myself, I would like that, but that is not my forte. But he did buy me the nicest most surprising gift anyone’s ever gotten me with that signed West Wing cast photo I posted on Instagram this morning, so I’m not complaining.

  9. RA December 3, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    It depends. I’m a practical person, but my MIL hates giving boring gifts, so I have to figure out things I actually want/can use and are kind of, I don’t know, splashy or something, that she can feel good about buying me. This year, I came up with workout tops, a gray puffer vest, and a tart pan, so, yeah, still working on that.

    • Becky December 3, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

      Yeah, it has to be something splashy that I will get a lot of use of.

      Gray puffer vest really screams splashy to me. Good job. =)

      • RA December 4, 2012 at 11:52 am #

        At least it has a fur collar! (detachable, obvs)

  10. Andrea December 3, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    That is a lovely purse! I typically ask for a mix of practical and fun stuff. This year I’d kind of like some new boots and fancy sunglasses, but I realize it would be hard for other people to buy those for me. So I’ll think of some other things for my list too.

  11. Jesabes December 3, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

    I like both kinds of gifts. I tend to lean towards practical – I’d love to receive a vaccuum if I needed one – but I usually just go out and buy whatever I actually need so I end up having to find other things to ask for!

Comments are closed.

