Work Holiday Party Wear

21 Nov

Work holiday parties can be tough to dress for.  Unless you are a guy, in which case a suit is pretty much always appropriate, in my experience.  However, for women it’s a harder call.  Maybe you have a favorite little black dress, but it’s a little too sexy for a work event.  Or if you are used to dressing up for work, how do you make it a little fancier or holiday-appropriate?

This year, my husband’s company is having their party on the same night as mine.  Luckily, they are literally across the street from each other in downtown Denver (mine at the Four Seasons; his at a ballroom at the Performing Arts Center.)  So, we are doing cocktails at his, and dinner at mine.  Last year, we just attended mine, which was in a private cellar room at a trendy restaurant, and I wore a Jessica Howard dress from Macy’s, a black A-line with a white circle print and a teal sash around the waist.  I also wore a black shrug.  This year feels a little fancier for both parties, but I think if I hadn’t worn it last year, it would work again.

The scuttlebutt around my office is some ladies are doing black pants with a festive top, and some are doing sparkly dresses. I think the main elements include work-appropriateness, something festive (sequins, shine, jewel-tone colors, sparkly accessories, etc.), and something a notch up from normal work-wear.

Here are some ideas I’m considering.  Obviously I am trending toward the cocktail dress option, but I would love to hear your ideas or what you are wearing this year!

I kind of love this one from Loft.

This is another cute Loft option.

You could probably make this Express top work with a skirt or black pants and heels (and the right accessories).

This Anthropologie dress is full of sparkle and shine!

As is this one from Anthro.

One Response to “Work Holiday Party Wear”

  1. PinkieBling November 21, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    They are all really pretty, but I LOVE that first dress.

Comments are closed.

