SAO Gift Guide: My Wishlist

9 Nov

Unlike the rest of the other lovely SAO ladies, who are busy brainstorming gift ideas for other people in their lives, I’m going to take this opportunity to bring the attention to ME! I felt odd calling this a gift guide, but hey, maybe you know someone just like me, and this will be helpful. Anyway, here is what is on my list this year:

Gray puffer vest: I haven’t found one I love yet, but I like this one best so far because of the cool chevron quilting pattern and the detachable hood.

Short-sleeved workout tees: All of my workout tops are sleeveless, and I feel pretty bare in them during colder weather, especially at office yoga.

Long-sleeved workout tees: And again, with long sleeves, especially for my (reluctant, torturous) morning runs.

Metropolis calendar: Last year, I bought a pretty calendar for the kitchen, and I loved it, so this will be the 2013 model.

Camera bag insert: I love my Kelly Moore bag, but I think this could be handy when I could fit everything into a tote or a backpack and don’t want to sling another strap over my shoulder.

Beater Blade: Dude, it scrapes out your mixing bowl.

Books: I rarely buy books any more, but when I do, it’s because I loved it so much that I plan to reread it or I know I’ll recommend it to others and I’ll want a copy to lend. Here are the books that met these criteria this year:

  • A Wrinkle in Time: The Graphic Novel, by Madeleine L’Engle and illustrated by Hope Larson: Slight exception to the rule, but here’s why. Madeleine L’Engle is my favorite author of all time, and I am on a constant mission to add to my collection of her books. Most of the ones I’m missing are out of print, so this has become an increasingly expensive habit. However! This graphic novel version of A Wrinkle in Time just came out this year, and I must have it.
  • An Everlasting Meal, by Tamar Adler: I got this book from the library because I was nervous about the volume of produce we were going to get from our CSA box, and I thought the content might be helpful. I figured that I’d skim it, glean a few ideas, and be done with it. Instead, I was totally fascinated by the concepts and bored my husband to death by reading every other line. I almost read it too fast, and now I need my own copy.
  • The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green: I had just about given up on John Green after reading 2 of his other books, which I perceived to be basically the same. But then I heard lots of good things about this newest release, and I gave it go. Hey, now! I really liked this one! It’s smart and sharp, and it’s heartfelt without being sentimental, and that’s pretty darn hard with a book about teenagers with cancer. I thought the whole story was very satisfying.
  • The Wednesday Wars, by Gary D. Schmidt: This book was ridiculously, magically good. It made me feel like kids will read this book, love it, and tell THEIR kids that this was a book they need to read because they loved it so much. It had a wonderful combination of the mundane life of junior high school in the profound context of the Korean War. The reader of the audio version I listened was really, really good, but I’m curious how the book reads off the page, too.
  • Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life, by Amy Krouse Rosenthal: This book is a quirky collection of alphabetized encyclopedia entries about the author’s life, and they bounce around between being funny, mundane, and poignant. I really loved the cross-references, figures, and tables throughout. I kept finding myself wanting to shout, “Yes!” and pump my fist when something really resonated. It’s a light, easy read, and you don’t have to read it from A to Z or all at once. I gave it to my sister for Christmas last year, and after it arrived in the mail, I wished I had ordered one for myself.

What’s on your wish list?

One Response to “SAO Gift Guide: My Wishlist”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SAO Gift Guides « Style All Over - November 19, 2012

    […] Gifts for Yourself […]

Comments are closed.

