SAO Gift Guide: Gifts for Fathers (or Fathers-in-Law)

8 Nov

I’ve pulled together some ideas for things you might want to consider getting your dad or father-in-law for the holidays this year. Now, lest you think I am some sort of expert on Dad Things, I am not. I approached this assignment with my own personal dad in mind. Your mileage may vary.

Herewith, my ideas. Dad Things Ahoy!

1) A Kindle. OK, yes, this might be cheating because obviously this applies to more than just dads. But my dad is a HUGE reader. Wandering through bookstores is one of his favorite things to do, and my mom is always hounding him about clutter, so BOOM. Kindle. Grab him an Amazon gift card to go along with it, and you’re done.

This particular Kindle is only $69, which is a pretty good price point for what it gets you.

{Photo credit: amazon.com}

2) Bacon of the Month club membership. Who wouldn’t want this under the tree? Well, if your dad is a vegetarian, I guess I’d skip it.  Mine is not, so I think this would be a pretty fun gift.  The one I found is from Zingerman’s, and it comes in three- and six-month packages. I think the novelty on this one would be cool, plus also it is literally the gift that keeps on giving!

3) Monogrammed BBQ grill tools. Does your dad like to grill? Of course he does! Order him a set of personalized grill tools from Williams-Sonoma. Then sit back and enjoy the steaks.

{Photo credit: williams-sonoma.com}

4) Warm, cozy slippers. I personally like this pair of Ugg slippers from Nordstrom. Everyone needs cozy slippers, but you usually don’t feel like shelling out the dough yourself for a nice pair. That’s why they make great gifts!

{Photo credit: nordstrom.com}

5) Dress shirts from Lands End. My dad is a sucker for these and asks for them nearly every year. These shirts are great – smooth cotton, machine washable, and Dad Approved!

{Photo credit: landsend.com}

6) Magazine Subscriptions. File this as another one under the “gifts that keep on giving” category. I’m fond of giving magazine subscriptions because it’s something you can enjoy all year.  They can also be a great way of “rounding out” a gift. If your dad has a hobby, get him a coordinating magazine. My father-in-law loves mountain biking, so I’d consider getting him a year’s worth of Bicycling magazine.

What are you thinking about getting for your dad this year?

 

 

4 Responses to “SAO Gift Guide: Gifts for Fathers (or Fathers-in-Law)”

  1. Melissa November 8, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    My dad got re-married recently. And we recently discovered the local paint-your-own-pottery place. So, the new wife is getting a pencil cup (she’s an illustrator on the side) and my dad is getting coasters from our girls. Then I plan to get them an engraved photo frame and put a wedding photo in it for them. Done and done. More pottery for my in-laws and in-law grandparents also. Love that pottery place 🙂 Other gifts we’ve done for dad – sweaters, cologne, biking gear (gps tool for tracking his rides, etc).

  2. RA November 8, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    My FIL is retiring this year from 25 years at UPS, so when we were in Seattle, I took a picture of their founding fathers-type plaque in Pioneer Square. Back home, I edited it to be sepia (what can brown do for you?) and high-contrast, and got it printed on a canvas. It’ll go in his home office, and I can’t wait for him to see it. 🙂

    My dad is getting a copy of Quiet, by Susan Cain, because he is, well, quiet.

    • stephanie November 8, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

      RA, that is such a thoughtful gift for your father-in-law. I swear, you are the best gift-giver I know!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SAO Gift Guides « Style All Over - November 19, 2012

    […] Gifts for Fathers or Fathers-In-Law […]

Comments are closed.

