SAO Gift Guide: Stocking Stuffers

5 Nov

I am excited to tell you that we are going to do a series of gift guides over the next two weeks. We will have gift guides for mothers, fathers, friends, significant others, kids, teens, and more.

I’m starting us off with ideas for stocking stuffers. It’s not the most glamorous category, especially since I’m only including gifts that are under $10, and preferably under $5. I don’t like to spend much on stocking stuffers, but I also don’t like to give stocking stuffers that are junky. I hope my list gives you some good ideas.

I suggest going to your local bookstore to find a bookmark, but this Bold Classic Blue Quote Metal Bookmark from Barnes and Noble with a quote from Eleanor Roosevelt is nice too.

I cannot recommend Abdallah Candies enough. Their sea salt caramels are the absolute best, but a candy bar or two (or ten) would also be good choices. I recommend the dark chocolate truffle bar.

My sister and I used to make potholders with those little loom sets and stretchy fabric loops. I kind of want to get her a loom just for nostalgia and because I secretly want to steal it and make some potholders. I suppose you could also get this for a crafty kid if you don’t have a 31-year-old sister, like I do. A loom is only $7.45 at the Vermont Country Store.

Sally Hansen Hard As Nails Extreme Wear Nail Color is only $1.29 at Ulta. You can also buy it at Target, Walgreens, CVS, etc. Does the store sell nail polish? I’m sure they have this. I have tried pretty much every cheap nail polish that is widely available, and this is the one I’d recommend. You know your recipient better than I do (obviously), but I might suggest Wet Cement (gray), Celeb City (silver), Cherry Red (uh, cherry red), and Crushed (red-orange).

Who doesn’t love Sharpies? Everyone loves Sharpies! Staples has Ultra Fine Point Permanent Markers $4.99 for 5 markers.

While you’re at Staples, get the kids in your life these awesome Mr. Sketch Scented Watercolor Markers. Yes, I said SCENTED.

I have been eyeing these hedgehog candles at Target for a while, and they are on clearance at my Target for less than $5 now. I bought two. (No link, but they are in the candle aisle.)

20121104-132428.jpg

Piperlime has some Tinley Road earrings on sale now for $8.97. They come in yellow, pink, and blue.

If someone on your gift list is a big card player and/or is a Tim Burton fan, MOMA is selling Tim Burton playing cards for $5.

Over at Etsy, in the shop of DesignDaze, there is adorable printable art of each letter of the alphabet for $4.

The BelleMerGraphics shop in Etsy has a number of beautiful sea-inspired vintage prints for $10 each.

Prinstagram is a service that will make stickers or little books out of your Instagram photos. You could make fun stickers for the kids in your life, and a photo book would be a good gift for older relatives.

Finally, who doesn’t like coffee? No one, that’s who. So. You can get half a pound of many different flavors of Caribou Coffee for less than $10.

What is your favorite gift idea for a stocking stuffer?

5 Responses to “SAO Gift Guide: Stocking Stuffers”

  1. andrea November 5, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    Excellent ideas. I’m also in need of some new ideas for stockings for my parents and inlaws. We always do kind of basic stuff for them, lip balm, gum or mints, cozy socks, coffee, candy. PS Get y’all some of those chocolates. They are awesome!!

  2. Stefanie November 5, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    I used to LOVE those Mr. Sketch scented markers! My dad always had them in his office, and every now and then, we got to play with them. (Why didn’t my mom just get us our own set? I’ve no idea. I should get some for my little sister this year.)

  3. lawyernomore November 5, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    Love the loom and Sharpie ideas!

  4. RA November 5, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

    Ooh, CUTE earrings!

    I recommend the card versions of board games, like Scrabble Slam and the like. I’ve seen them in stores for like $4-7 or so. And $10 goes a pretty long way at iTunes or Amazon for mp3s, I think.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SAO Gift Guides « Style All Over - November 19, 2012

    […] Stocking Stuffers […]

Comments are closed.

