SAO Says: Scary or Confusing Trends

2 Nov

Which trend scares or confuses you?

Hillary: Peplums. First of all, these things remind me of some of my favorite outfits from elementary school. I’m not sure I should be wearing anything as a 31-year-old that resembles something I wore as an 11-year-old. Still, I am a bit straight up and down and can see where the little flounce might make my hips look a little curvier and my waist narrower. Except, after two babies, my lower stomach doesn’t need any floofiness around it. Pretty sure this is one trend I’ll be passing on.

Danielle: Booties. I love the look on others, but I can’t seem to make it work on myself. Maybe my jeans are the wrong length or I need more skirts – whatever I try doesn’t seem to look right.

Buster: I find rompers and jumpsuits baffling. I admit to liking the one-piece instant-outfit thing that makes for easy dressing, but they seem impractical  How do you go to the bathroom? Do you have to completely disrobe?

Andrea: The comeback of high-waisted pants and shorts paired with cropped shirts really confuses me. I suppose it’s because I prefer more of the classic pieces that will last a long time and I generally stay away from trends that will seem dated too quickly. I’ll occasionally try some trendier options, like colors or prints, but sorry, you won’t see me sporting either of these comeback trends.

Maura: Weird nail art. I can’t get behind multi-colored French manicures or one nail of a different color. OCD or SOL (stodgy old lady), I can’t do it.

Becky: Cropped sweaters confuse me. If it is cold enough for a sweater, why are you showing your stomach? And in what situation is a cropped sweater appropriate? I cannot imagine wearing a cropped shirt in public. No.

What do you find mystifying or terrifying in today’s trends?

6 Responses to “SAO Says: Scary or Confusing Trends”

  1. K November 2, 2012 at 8:31 am #

    I am unable to support booties.

    And I have built-in peplum given my pear shaped lower half, so I’ll be skipping that trend as well.

  2. RA November 2, 2012 at 10:32 am #

    I am in totally agreement with all of these scary trends, but especially the romper. I can’t stand it when someone uses the “one-piece outfit” argument. You know what else is one piece? A DRESS. That you don’t have to take off to use the rest room! And doesn’t make you look like an infant!

    I heard through the grapevine that rat tails are back now. SERIOUSLY? This makes me terrified for the future.

  3. Becky November 2, 2012 at 10:39 am #

    Rompers are a good one. I mean a good choice for a bad trend. BOOO, ROMPERS.

    I like that Andrea and I both picked cropped shirts.

  4. lawyernomore November 2, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Man, I loved the 80s so much the first time around, but it all just seems so silly and impractical now. Can’t we repeat the fashion of the 50s instead?

  5. Andrea November 4, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

    I had so many more choices for scary fashion choices but figured it best to pare it down (rat tails! seriously, rat tails y’all!!!) It’s like I’m elderly, and I can’t understand young people fashion. (neon colors, tank tops with the long armpit holes, ripped up acid wash jeans, I could go on and on!)

  6. Jesabes November 7, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    These are great. I agree with every one. Won’t see me in any of this stuff!

Comments are closed.

