Roll Up Your Sleeves- A New Trick

1 Nov

Recently, I came upon this interesting little tidbit on How to Roll a Sleeve the J Crew way:

It’s a really quick tip, but the gist of it is that my technique (a mash-up somewhere between pants-pegging and sheet-folding) is NOT the way to create the cutest sleeve.

I’ll say right now that I tried this little trick  just a moment ago and (now that the blood has returned to my forearm) I feel comfortable saying I might need a little practice.  (I ALSO might need to go up a size.)  Despite the tourniquet effect I experienced, it LOOKS great and is such an easy way to add some extra style to some pieces that already exist in your closet!

If you need to ADD a few more of those long-sleeved button-up shirts, may I suggest the following items I’ve been trying to squeeze into my clothing budget recently?

Hello, Uniqlo online shopping! I love this cozy flannel with boyfriend jeans, but I’ve seen similar tops work un-tucked over a pencil skirt and belted at the waist.

Banana Republic got me with two words on this shirt: SOFT WASH.  (Note the sleeves! Fancy roll!)  (PS- if you like this too, definitely wait for a sale.  It feels like there’s ALWAYS one happening.)

Gap has this version with a super cute front ruffle, plus claims to be both tailored AND relaxed somehow.  Magic?

Finally, in the this-better-go-on-sale-soon category: this really lovely shirt from J Crew, who paired with Liberty of London to bring these amazing prints to a pretty common clothing item.  For those of you who’ve been thinking if patterned pants might be a good idea, I think this is a similar way to show off a great pattern without committing to something super trendy.  Since these prints are pretty classic, I think I’d still love the shirt long after people have thrown away their new floral jeans.

And if you try this fancy sleeve roll trick– let me know how it works for you?  I’ll be over here practicing, restricting blood flow and keeping scissors on stand-by.

3 Responses to “Roll Up Your Sleeves- A New Trick”

  1. elleinadspir November 1, 2012 at 7:20 am #

    Interesting…I’ll have to try this. Maybe I need a new shirt to practice on…I kind of love that GAP one.

  2. Jesabes November 1, 2012 at 7:20 am #

    Huh, I would never have thought of rolling my sleeve that way. I’m going to have to try it!

  3. RA November 1, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    I’ve tried it, but the cuff kept like, gaping open, winglike. Maybe I’m doing it wrong or just need more practice?

    Sigh. I long for button-downs, but see: gigantic Hulk shoulders. We are not meant to be.

Comments are closed.

