Heel Heights for All Day Wear

18 Oct

Last weekend I had the honor of being a bridesmaid in the wedding of the year (Congrats, A!).  Fortunately for me, I had lots of choices in the day’s wear: two different dress choices, a variety of colors, shoes specified with “whatever you want, but metallic and not stripper shiny.”  Easy, right?  RIGHT.   Knowing my penchant for flip flops, I started trying to find the right shoe months ago.  On a trip to New York in July I happened upon a pair of pretty simple, yet fantastic shoes on consignment: light gold, in my size, super duper price.  The moment I put them on I knew: I had found the heel height of my dreams.  TWO AND ONE QUARTER INCHES.

 

Now that I have ACTUAL experience with wearing them for 12 plus hours (which included standing for a Catholic mass ceremony, pictures, and at least three hours of dancing) I know with even greater certainty: it’s the heel height to end all heel heights.  Sure, I got tired from being on my feet.  But I certainly didn’t incur extra pain from way-too-high or pinchy heels.

Since those Stuart Weitzmans’ are… spendy, how about a round-up of similar shoes for YOUR next big fancy event?

These Vigotti shoes are a very similar version of the heel I bought for only $89.

 

Looking for a little sparkle?  These shoes will run you less than $80. (And I think they’re sparkle party approved, ahem, BLATHERING, ahem.)

 

Perhaps you’re hoping for less sparkle, more saturated color in deep jewel tones? (I LOVE this red shoe: the shape is just a little retro, but not so much so that you can’t pair it with a more trendy item like slim black pants and a polka dot or striped top.)

 

Any other tips or favorite brands for comfy shoes?  I may just get this whole “real shoes instead of flip flops” thing after all!

4 Responses to “Heel Heights for All Day Wear”

  1. RA October 18, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    My mom wore those J. Renee shoes in like, a pewter color for my sister’s wedding and LOOOVED them!

    • CharlieSue October 18, 2012 at 11:42 am #

      OOOOOH, really? The J Renee’s were probably my fave of the bunch and they come in several colors (which I think makes them versatile?). I’m going to be stalking sales, I think…

  2. Becky October 18, 2012 at 10:00 am #

    Yes, 2 to 2 1/2 inches is my go-to height. Anything higher and I can’t walk like a normal person.

    • CharlieSue October 18, 2012 at 11:44 am #

      I have about four minutes where I feel like a fancy model. Followed by countless hours of wincing and a slight limp. (Although sometimes I can do a wedge with a heel a bit higher, thanks to the extra sole.)

Comments are closed.

