Souvenir Jewelry

17 Oct

A few years ago, someone I knew was talking about a piece of jewelry she had gotten while she was on vacation. As much as I adore my kitschy, cheesy, travel souvenirs I keep in my office,  I started keeping an eye out for jewelry pieces that would make good souvenirs.

You can find jewelry in almost any price range, so your souvenir jewelry doesn’t even have to be expensive. (Although when I strike it rich, I’ll probably splurge on fancy jewels more than costume type jewelry!)

Take these earrings I got in New York City a couple of weeks ago. They were only $10 and I get compliments on them every time I wear them. Someone even asked if I got them at the fancy jewelry store in town.

When I was in New Mexico I got this beautiful Zuni made turquoise and silver ring.

A charm bracelet is an easy way to start a souvenir jewelry collection, but I don’t have a charm bracelet (and don’t really feel like starting one), so I just buy whatever I like. I have several necklaces and a couple other pieces, so my souvenir jewelry collection is slowly growing. I’ve even gotten a few pieces from friends who thought of me on their vacations, so jewelry definitely also makes a good souvenir to give.

So, now it’s your turn. Do you buy souvenir jewelry? Do you have a favorite piece?

3 Responses to “Souvenir Jewelry”

  1. Miranda October 17, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    I do this! I have quite a few pieces, like the Kendra Scott ring I got when in Austin for the Blathering. I’m looking in to NOLA specific designers for next month. 🙂

    • andrea October 17, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

      I’m sure you’ll be able to find something awesome!

  2. Audrey October 22, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    I love jewelry as souvenirs — both for myself and for others. To me it’s a great way to remember a trip while also being something I’ll use and enjoy for a long time.

Comments are closed.