Hillary: What I Wore This Week (or so)

17 Oct

People had asked for a rundown of a week’s worth of outfits from any of us Style All Over bloggers willing  to keep track. So, here’s what I’ve got. I apologize now for the dirty mirror. I only realized how bad it was as I posted these pictures.

This was a Monday and day 15 or 16 of the most annoying cold I’ve had in years. I did not want to get dressed, so here’s what you get: long-sleeved T from Target, jersey scarf from Old Navy two years ago and pants from LOFT. I am of two minds about these pants. I needed slim, ankle-length plants that could be worn with flats, but these, now I’ve got them home, feel a little early ’90s elementary teacher to me. What do you think? Frumpy or chic?

(Also, does anyone else think they put extra flattering mirrors in dressing rooms?)

I put this outfit together around the brown snakeskin wedges I bought because TJ Maxx did not have the gold heels I went there for. I think the outfit looked better in my head, maybe. It’s a whole lotta neutral.

Here’s another outfit that looked better in my head, I think. The shirt is vintage. It was a coworker’s mother’s and when she, the coworker, couldn’t wear it any longer, she left it on my desk, saying it suited me. I love it, but the wide lapel and puffy sleeves make it difficult to style and not look like someone out of That ’70s Show.

I love this skirt so, so much. Both this and the purple one are the No. 2 pencil skirt from JCrew. I put it on and feel instantly put together and happy. Get one.

This is a normal Friday outfit for me, which shows you how crappy I felt on Monday. I’m really digging these Pilcro straight-leg chinos from Anthropologie. I wear them to tee ball on Saturdays rolled up with canvas tennis shoes or flip-flops. They work like jeans, but feel a little nicer without being over-dressed.

I completely forgot to take pictures of my Saturday outfit. It was rather boring: purple cropped pants, navy T-shirt and plain flats. Sunday, I did yard work in the morning in a crappy old T and shorts. After I got cleaned up, this maxi dress is what I changed into. I didn’t dry my hair. I didn’t put on shoes, even, the rest of the day.

If I were a real fashion blogger, I’d throw on big dangly earrings and belt this dress with a vintage cardigan or something and pair it all with $500 flats. Instead, you get barefoot and fuzzy-haired.

And then, another Monday rolled around again, and this time I actually put effort in — though I didn’t take a picture. It involved — pretend to be surprised! — another pencil skirt.

Tuesday, I went for a ’70s vibe.

I felt very good in this outfit. But I’ve had this skirt for, I don’t know, five years, and every six months or so, I think I should get rid of it. Too frumpy, too blah. Only then I wear it and get compliments and so it stays. Thoughts?

I have to say, it’s been interesting keeping track of my outfits this way. I’ve read it 1,000 times before, but pictures give you a completely different perspective on your outfits. It also is painfully clear I need a haircut.

6 Responses to “Hillary: What I Wore This Week (or so)”

  1. Reading (and chickens) October 17, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    That skirt is TO DIE FOR, Hillary. If you get rid of it, mail it to me. OK? Yes?

  2. RA October 17, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

    Yep, still love that purple skirt and that pink patterned number! So great. I also enjoy your scarf skills!

  3. Jesabes October 17, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    I like your first outfit! I wish I looked that put together on a ‘frumpy’ day. (You don’t look frumpy. Also, not like a kindergarten teacher.)

  4. K October 18, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    I think you might be too cute for words.

  5. Audrey October 22, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    I really like the black dress + tan blazer outfit! The necklace is gorgeous.

    I’m also a fan of the non-fashion-blogger maxi dress look. To me, a maxi dress is a great way to look put together with very minimal effort. You totally pulled it off!

  6. Maggie October 23, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    Oh Hillary. You are the cutest. I wish I could wear ANY of those outfits. I have really tried the belt thing and, just, no. SIGH.

    I think skinny pants look awesome when they are just a SMIDGE short. At least, it keeps me from feeling 90s teacherish. With flats: adorable.

Comments are closed.

