I Feel the Need for Tweed!

15 Oct

I have an old brown tweed jacket that I bought at H&M years ago. I absolutely love it, but it is too small on me these days. I am in the market for a new tweed jacket, but I’m not finding anything I love at a reasonable price point. While I know that this is an investment piece, I can’t justify spending a ton of money right now.

For example, I really like this tweed blazer from Tommy Hilfiger, but the price is way out of my budget at $250. (Oh, this one is perfect! I need a replica!)

 

I might consider a blazer in another color, like this green blazer from J. Crew, but the $200 price tag is still steep.

 

This Lands’ End blazer is cute, and in a nice color, but it’s STILL $200 and not brown.

 

There is another Lands’ End jacket on sale, but the plaid is a little big, and the jacket is short.  I’m not sure I love it at $139.

 

Banana Republic has a cute jacket for $130, but it is really short. I generally don’t look great in short jackets because I”m all leg. (You’re weeping for me, I know.)

 

As you can see, I’ve done my leg work. I’ve tried Boden, Gap, Macy’s and even Cold Water Creek and Chicos. Really. Have you found a reasonably priced tweed or plaid jacket?

One Response to “I Feel the Need for Tweed!”

  1. RA October 15, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    I love a shopping challenge like this, but this is a tough one. Here are some I found, but I’m not totally in love with any of them.

    Talbot’s, $229: http://www.talbots.com/online/browse/product_details.jsp?id=prdi29595&rootCategory=cat70008&catId=cat80008&sortKey=Default&section=Regular&conceptIdUnderSale=cat70008

    AE, $79.95 (but, um, shimmer tweed?): http://www.ae.com/web/browse/product.jsp?productId=0383_1571_020&catId=cat4260032

    So, this isn’t tweed, but I have a teal cord blazer that I got like 8 years ago and still love. Maybe something like this could work: (AE, $69.95) http://www.ae.com/web/browse/product.jsp?productId=0383_1586_200&catId=cat4260032

Comments are closed.

