Packing Light for a Business-Casual Conference

12 Oct

Last week, I went to Sacramento for 2 days for a work conference, and I was hellbent on NOT CHECKING LUGGAGE, so help me. I bought and rejected 2 pieces of luggage for this express purpose, and finally, because the trip was so short, I decided to suck it up and cram everything into my backpack. So between my laptop bag and my blue backpack, I looked very much like a cross between Dora the Explorer and a mule, but whatever! I did not check! It’s a moral victory!

Anyway, fist pumps aside, here’s what I wore.

On the Flight: I had 2 flights in each direction, so my goals for this outfit were to wear as much jersey as possible and maximize my options for layering. Goals: achieved! Also, I had to flat-out sprint for my last flight, so these shoes came in handy. I missed the flight, but that wasn’t their fault.

Networking Event: Shortly after I got settled in my hotel room, I attended a welcome reception for the conference participants. Can you see how excited I was to start networking already?!

  • The same jersey dress
  • Black pointy heels (similar)
  • Skinny black patent belt (similar)
  • Mustard cardigan (similar)

This conference is listed as business-casual, which some people interpret as full-on suit and others interpret as “whatever I shoved in my suitcase.” You will see skirt suits and pumps next to leopard-print tunics and sneakers. It’s very weird. I try to hit the middle of the road.

Day 1: I went to lectures for most of the day, which was not super fun. In the afternoon, I changed into jeans and flats and walked around the very lovely capitol building.

Day 2: I had 2 3-hour workshops that day, and the rooms are notoriously cold, so I made sure to layer up.

  • Purple top (similar)
  • Same pants, heels, and striped blazer (and leftover hair, while I’m at it)

After that, you can bet that I changed right back into my flight outfit. Hellooo, sweet jersey heaven.

3 Responses to “Packing Light for a Business-Casual Conference”

  1. Jesabes October 12, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    Wow! All your outfits look great and it’s crazy they came from so few separate pieces.

  2. Becky October 12, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    Awesome. And you know I appreciate a good thumbs up photo.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My new luggage philosophy « Definitely RA - November 9, 2012

    […] my trip to Sacramento, I decided to suck it up and cram everything into a backpack, and I felt so very morally victorious. Look at me, the experienced traveler! I can carry […]

Comments are closed.

