In search of: Booties?

10 Oct

My favorite pair of jeans is about 5 inches too long.  But I cannot quit them.  (I am 5’5″ and short-legged so this is not an uncommon problem for me.)  Which brings me to my current dilemma:  What to wear in the fall/winter with long jeans?  All summer I wore tall wedges with them, but obviously those times are past.  I think the answer is ankle boots or booties, but a quick search reveals so many different styles (and frightening flashbacks to 1992 for me) that I don’t know where to begin.  I definitely need height, but do I go with more of a stiletto heel or a chunky heel?  Do I want a pointy toe or a classic boot toe?  Most importantly, what says 2012 and not 1992 (seriously – bad fashion flashbacks here.)

These are spendy but look pretty versatile:

Michael Kors Emory Bootie – $225 (Zappos)

I like this color a lot, but the heel is kinda iffy and the ankle cut-out screams bootie to me:

Nine West Cosy – $97.99 (Zappos)

I really like these, but I am hesitant to spend over $100 on something that may be completely out of style next year:

Seychelles Prime Suspect – $140 (Zappos)

So far this post has taught me that I am apparently drawn to a rounded toe, so at least we have all learned something here.  But I remain undecided.

What are you wearing with long jeans this fall?

5 Responses to “In search of: Booties?”

  1. RA October 10, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    Hm. I haven’t bought in to booties yet. In the winter with long jeans, I wear knee-high boots or heels. Is that not what you want? How about a closed-toe wedge?

    • N October 10, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

      I have done the tall boots and heels, too. I’m just seeing booties everywhere and they seem easier? I like the closed-toe wedge idea, though, too.

  2. Liz October 10, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

    What am I wearing with long pants this fall? Hems.

    But seriously, I’m 4’11” and have a few pairs of pants that are 3 inches too long. I wear boots with them

    • N October 10, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

      Some days I just want the illusion of long legs, to live in a world without the “S” after the size number on the tag. Sigh…

  3. MyJRNY October 14, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

    I just put my (potentially) first pair of booties in my Zappos shopping cart. ::sigh:: I think I need them and they need me.

Comments are closed.

