Fall Trends: Houndstooth

8 Oct

I found out last year from friends who are fans of the University of Alabama that houndstooth is one of the unofficial “colors” of their team. My Alabama friends LOVE houndstooth. I started seeing houndstooth everywhere after my friends talked about it, and this year, it’s a big trend for fall.

I think houndstooth would be really easy to incorporate into most outfits. It goes well with black, red, bright pink, or kelly green. Here are a few houndstooth pieces I’ve been admiring.

Tahari Houndstooth Belted Jersey Dress at Nordstrom for $134

Houndstooth shell from Kohl’s for $21.60 (on sale)

212 Collection

Sheer Houndstooth tights from The Limited for $19.90

Bonjour the One Dress on Modcloth for $79.99 – based on the description, this dress runs small and is probably best for someone with small-ish hips

Carefully Chosen Coat from Modcloth for $99.99 (currently only available in large)

Evan Picone Dress, Sleeveless Houndstooth A-line Dress in Petite at Macy’s for $99

Elementz Sleeveless Houndstooth Dress in Plus Sizes at Macy’s for $48

My favorite of these is the first dress- the Tahari houndstooth belted dress at Nordstrom. I’m not going to become an Alabama fan, but I do think I could use some houndstooth.

6 Responses to “Fall Trends: Houndstooth”

  1. Michelle October 8, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    I am in love with houndstooth. I got a cardigan from Target that I pair with pearls and it makes me feel put together and grown up. I love the modcloth dress and might have to go check it out.

  2. Becky October 8, 2012 at 9:15 am #

    i’ve seen the cardigan at Target too! I hate linking to Target though because their website is such a wreck.

    There are quite a few houndstooth dresses on Modcloth, so I would definitely look there.

  3. Sarah Lena (@SarahLena) October 8, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    O HAI DIS IZ MAI FAVRIT.

    Seriously, Alabama aside, I am IN LOVE with houndstooth. It makes everything instantly classic, and since my wardrobe consists of white, black, and jewel tones, it’s so easy to pair with everything else. Everyone should own at least one houndstooth dress.

  4. Julie Short (@mavsmom) October 8, 2012 at 10:42 am #

    You know I love this post. I am with Sarah though. Alabama aside Houndstooth is a great addition to any wardrobe. I having been seeing a lot more of in stores and on people. Definitely makes me happy!

  5. RA October 8, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    I love that coat! When I wrote my scarf-shopping post, there was a cute houndstooth scarf at Forever 21, but it appears to have disappeared. Sad.

  6. Lawyernomore October 8, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

    I, too, love that coat! Love all the ways to wear houndstooth this season, as well.

Comments are closed.

