Reader Question: Comfortable, Versatile Flats for Work

28 Sep

This week, reader Audrey asked/tweeted:

I’m on the lookout for cute, comfy, professional flats. Less than $50. Good for everyday use. I do not like bows. Help me shop, please!

I’m open to the possibility of two pairs. I need more close-toed options that I don’t hate for winter.

I’ve been browsing a bit and tend to like cap toes (is that what it’s called, when the toe is a different color?).

Also, am open to embellishment, just not bows. And open to fun colors (besides black/tan) that would go with lots of outfits.

I love this question because I love flats, and Audrey’s request is pretty close to my taste. The only thing is that I have a high tolerance for uncomfortable flats (little or no support, crushed toes) for the sake of cuteness or cheapness (like at Target and Payless), and I do not want to subject my girl to that. So, for this team shopping challenge, I am focusing on brands I can trust, well-reviewed products, and you! Be sure to add your suggestions in the comments!

Practical Workhorses: Classic shoes in neutral colors

Top row:

Bottom row:

Textures and Metallics: A little more interest while still being office-appropriate

Brights and Patterns: BAM. Fun flats! How’s that for your neutral work outfit?

Things I wish I had found:

  • Neutral pointy flats
  • Leopard print flats
  • Awesome red flats

Any other suggestions for Audrey out there?

5 Responses to “Reader Question: Comfortable, Versatile Flats for Work”

  1. Anna September 28, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    I have these http://www.dsw.com/shoe/me+too+nini+flat?prodId=dsw12prod3770058&productRef=SEARCH in black and I like them SO MUCH that I’m planning to go back and get the bronze as well. Comfortable, cute, go well with skirts, dress pants and jeans.

  2. Becky September 28, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    The copper ones and the blue ones are my favorites. I have yellow shoes that are the same brand as the blue ones you linked to, and I love them.

  3. Audrey September 29, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

    RA, thank you SO MUCH for writing this! I love love LOVE the tweedy one with the big button. Also love the Rebecca (in both colors!) and pretty much everything in the classic/neutral group. I knew I could count on you to point me in the direction of some good flats! Now it appears I need to get myself over to DSW and do some shopping! Yay!

  4. MauraLessa September 30, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    I love the zig zag Kenneth Cole ones! OMG. So cute. I have the Lands’ End shoes and they are SO uncomfortable. They are my second pair of horribly uncomfortable Lands’ End flats and I’ll never buy another pair of shoes from there (except the shearling slippers). Sorry to be a bummer!

    • RA October 1, 2012 at 8:20 am #

      Oh, boo! That stinks. Thanks for the intel, though!

Comments are closed.

