The Trench – A Seasonal Staple

26 Sep

I know autumn can mean different things to different people across the country, but I think we could all benefit from a trench-type of jacket in our wardrobes.   For many years I didn’t really consider trench coats, but once I got one, I realized that it should be a staple in anyone’s closet.  It’s the perfect weight for layering, and the style is completely timeless.  Plus, it usually adds a polished touch no matter what you are wearing.

My first trench was something I picked up on a whim, I think at Kohl’s.  This was back in my early lawyering days when I didn’t have much of a fashion budget to work with (public service holla!) but I definitely needed something to run back and forth to the courthouse in on chilly or rainy days before wool weather set in.  I ended up getting something mostly unstructured – it had all the elements of a classic trench, but it was a very flowy type of fabric that ended up working well over suit jackets.  It was also a safe/bland gray.  It did the job, and that’s about it.

This past spring, I was checking out the fairly new H&M store in downtown Denver and I came across a section of jackets in super bold colors, including a structured cotton blend trench with a slightly exaggerated collar and A-line cut.  I tried one on and was sold.  I don’t see the exact coat online anymore, but it is very similar to this one.  I got it in a bright blue:

Sorry for the dog bomb

Work elevator lighting to show the blue

Now, I’m not going to court anymore, but I do like to look professional during the work week as a general rule.  This coat makes me feel polished but it’s also flattering and a cute, sort of unexpected color, which makes it fun, and totally appropriate for pairing with jeans on date nights or weekend jaunts.  The collar and button positioning also works well with scarves.  In short: I love this coat, and at less than $50, what’s not to like?

Here are a few other options (I am in love with the Anthro coat):

Anthropology Ruffled Trench Coat ($168)

Merona Water-Repellent Classic Trench Coat (Target, $49.99)

DKNY Double-Breasted Trench Coat (Nordstrom, $148)

2 Responses to “The Trench – A Seasonal Staple”

  1. RA September 26, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    My friend has that Anthro trench, and it is TO DIE FOR. I think I’d have to, before I’d pay that much for a coat, but what I am saying is, it is way way pretty in person.

  2. MauraLessa September 30, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    If I didn’t already have a trench (Banana Republic, circa 2009), I’d be all over this Banana trench. I love, love, love the leather details. http://bananarepublic.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=40924&vid=1&pid=407742

Comments are closed.

