Lovely Layers: The Sweater Jacket

17 Sep

by Maura

I think by now it is a universal truth that office buildings do not follow the same seasons as Mother Nature. In summer, the air conditioning is so cold that sweaters and light coats are necessary indoors. In the winter, the heat makes office-goers rely on layers of light tops for indoors, and bundling up in sweaters and scarves to brave the streets for lunch. One of my favorite ways to battle the schizophrenic office weather is with a versatile jacket. I used to have my “Mr. Rogers Sweater,” one I wore the minute I got into my office every day, but they started to look frumpy after a while. This year I am switching to this cute, comfortable sweater jacket.

{Image credit: Banana Republic}

The jacket is made in a versatile knit material, but is structured like a blazer. It only comes in two colors, but the gray seems like it will go with a lot of different colors. At $98, it is not a bargain, but luckily Banana Republic often has coupons and sales.

How do you battle the inconsistent temperatures in the office?

3 Responses to “Lovely Layers: The Sweater Jacket”

  1. Jesabes September 17, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    I sit right by a window that isn’t insulated very well, so the temperatures inside match the outside pretty well. I bring a personal-size fan to work for the summer and often consider wearing mittens at my desk all winter! It doesn’t help that in an “energy efficiency” effort (aka, they want to save money), my company sets the thermostat at 68 in the winter and 78 in the summer, so it doesn’t really help make up for the extreme temperatures coming from the window.

  2. RA September 18, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    I just got a knit blazer that sounds similar to this, and I LOVE it. It feels like a sweatshirt, but it looks all business!

  3. Melissa September 18, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    Thank you! I was just thinking my t-shirt and zip up maurice’s jacket look might not be the best look for me. Maybe I’ll try a sweater blazer…

Comments are closed.

