Mixing Up The Uniform

13 Sep

Behold the miracle; I actually wore a skirt to work! I’m not sure WHY I rarely wear skirts, but it’s been so hot here lately that it seemed like a good idea. And it was! I was happy because my legs weren’t hot, and I actually felt a little more dressed up than usual.

You can’t really tell, but this skirt is bright purple, which makes me love it all the more. It’s the J. Crew No. 2 pencil skirt, and it is probably the most flattering skirt I have ever placed on my body. It’s cut pretty slim, but I love the length. Sadly, this purple color doesn’t seem to be available anymore, but I’m definitely considering snapping up the colors they do still have. I liked wearing the skirt with flats. I feel like pencil skirt + heels is really dressy, but pencil skirt + flats is a level down (upgraded casual?) and that felt right for me.

I’m still considering this a “uniform” outfit because I paired it with a simple white t-shirt and a long necklace. I also brought a cardigan since my office often features Arctic-level temperatures.

(I… think I need to work on my outfit photography. Perhaps I should take outfit photos in the afternoon when the sun isn’t blazing in. Also, you’re welcome for the view of my son’s cluttered bedroom!)

T-shirt: Gap

Skirt: J. Crew No. 2 pencil

Sandals: Dolce Vita Bagley

Necklace: BaubleBar

5 Responses to “Mixing Up The Uniform”

  1. RA September 13, 2012 at 8:39 am #

    I do love a purple skirt!

    But help me out here: pencil skirts. They always seem obscenely tight in my backside and then super loose in the waist. Plus, really long. Am I shaped funny? Should I just suck it up and try the No. 2? Or just stick with my A-line ways?

  2. Hillary September 13, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    The No. 2 really is a great skirt. I have it in that same purple shade and also an awesome paisley print. And I totally agree with the heels vs. flats distinction.

  3. Lawyernomore September 13, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    I have short athletic legs, so I have a hard time pulling off flats with pencil skirts. But, I like the idea of metallic flats – they might still lend some illusional elongation!

  4. K September 13, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

    Those sandals are KICKY.

  5. elleinadspir September 14, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    Love the skirt!

Comments are closed.

