Statement Necklaces

4 Sep

One of the hazards of my job is turning into THAT elementary school teacher.  She’s the one we all had at some point.  The one with the seasonal sweaters, the denim jumper, the clogs.  You get the idea.  See, when I’m at work I am rainbows and unicorns.  I am happy and positive and school spirited.  When you’re the counselor and you’re surrounded by little kids all day, being cheesy just sort of comes with the territory.  But let’s be clear.  I don’t own any jumpers or light up seasonal sweaters.  And most importantly, I don’t plan to.  What I DO own are some brightly colored, “fun” (for lack of a better word) clothes and accessories that go with my work identity.  The items I get the most use out of are actually my necklaces.  The first one that comes to mind is called “Fiesta” and it’s from Premier Designs. I ordered it from a catalog at a jewelry party where I felt pressured to buy something and this was the least expensive thing I liked in the catalog.  And while I did not have high expectations, I’ve loved it from the beginning.

Here I am wearing the Fiesta necklace when I’m 41.5 weeks pregnant.  Of course it’s completely overshadowed by my massive belly which contained my 9 pound baby who would be born 3 days later, but it’s the only picture I can find of me wearing the necklace so we’ll go with it.


I’m wearing it with white in this picture, but I wear this necklace with everything.  It seems to go with every color.  I’ve worn it with yellow, blue, black, pink, green, and on and on and on.  It’s the perfect length and, even better, if I want something shorter, it’s long enough to double.  Oh, the versatility, it’s unending.

Since my style tends to be very simple–cardigans, v-necks, khakis, black pants–I’ve begun buying accessories to add personality to my outfits.  While the necklace looks fairly unremarkable in that picture, someone comments on it every time I wear it.  It’s noticeable in the kind of way you want to be noticed.  I’ve been happy lately because there are a lot of great necklaces out there and the best thing about jewelry is that it comes at all prices.

Here are some I’m currently loving:

(top row, L to R: Riverwalk Waterfall $24.00, Sabine Coin Drop Long $9.97, Navy Circle Enamel-Link $39.50)

(bottom row, L to R:  Kate Spade Rosewood Dot Necklace $63.99, Kate Spade Plaza Athenee Short Necklace $128, Brazilian Getaway $24.00)

I think the best thing about necklaces, and accessories in general, is that there are a million different choices so you can always find something that just says YOU.

4 Responses to “Statement Necklaces”

  1. RA September 4, 2012 at 9:13 am #

    I love a statement necklace! The red and yellow ones you posted are calling my name…

  2. Melissa September 4, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    ooo I love Brazilian getaway!

  3. CharlieSue September 4, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    SO easy, but somehow I just discovered this too! I LOVE the Fiesta one you’re wearing, looks so versatile!

  4. readingandchickens September 6, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    I love all of these but I feel like my clothes are all weird necklines or loud colors. Does that work? I’m a fashion reject, pls advise. 🙂

Comments are closed.

