What I Wore on Vacation: Seattle

31 Aug

Earlier this month, my husband and I spent a week on vacation in Seattle, and we had a fabulous time. As is my custom, I expended more energy than was reasonable stressing about my Packing Strategy. The constraints were as follows:

  1. The Farmer’s Almanac had a historical range of temperatures between 50-75, which is a huge swing. Plus, Seattle rain!
  2. I really really REALLY did not want to have to check more than 1 bag between the both of us because that mess is highway robbery.
  3. We would have access to a washer and dryer where we were staying, but there was no time to do laundry. I packed out our itinerary like a lunatic, and there was no stretch of 2 hours to wait for a cycle of laundry.

My solution was to pack clothing that I could re-wear in different combinations and would layer to adapt to a wide range of temperatures. Here is what I brought:

  • 1 pair of skinny jeans
  • 2 short-sleeved t-shirts
  • 1 nicer-ish top
  • 2 sleeveless jersey dresses
  • 2 jersey cardigans
  • 1 sleeveless top
  • 1 white scarf
  • 3 pairs of shoes: sneaker-y ballet flats, supportive flip flops, and flat metallic sandals
  • 1 windbreaker
  • Appropriate understuff, obviously
  • Camera bag as carry-on and everyday bag

After I set aside my flight outfit (jeans, 1 t-shirt, 1 cardigan, flats, and scarf), I rolled up my stuff and fit it all into the side pockets of the luggage. My very tall husband was shocked and amazed.

During the week, I put the items together in different ways. Sometimes, I wore a dress by itself. Sometimes, I put a t-shirt over a dress to pretend the dress was a skirt. Sometimes, I cuffed my jeans. Sometimes, I spent the day in a dress and the flats and then changed into jeans, a top, and sandals for dinner. I wore everything at least twice, so I felt very resourceful, indeed. Also, it helped that Seattle is predominantly casual, so my metallic sandals were the nicest shoes I ever needed. The weather surprised us with record heat and no rain, so I never used the windbreaker! I did not see that coming.

Of the items I packed, these 3 were the most useful (as modeled above during our super fun Segway tour):


Target Merona V-Neck Crossover Dress: This link is to a striped version that I also have (in the green stripe color scheme) and is available right now, but the one I wore during this trip is solid black. Since I bought it in April, I’ve worn it almost every week since for work and weekends. I love how the straps are wide and the neck is not too low. This dress was a good way to get that shorts-and-tank-top feeling in just one piece and looking a notch nicer.

Kelly Moore Posey 2 Camera Bag: I bought this bag when I got a new camera last spring, and I love it. As camera bags go, it’s on the small side, but I was able to hold everything I needed every day: my camera with lens attached, a 16-ounce water bottle, our 7-page itinerary, my wallet, and various other purse-y things, like lip gloss and a pen. I often tied my scarf around the shoulder strap and tucked my sunglasses into the slip pocket in the back. Even though I’m sure I gave away our tourist status by pausing to take pictures all the time, I liked not having a big, obvious camera bag.

Puma Zandy Mesh Ballet Slippers (in Dark Shadow): All of my flats are great for sitting in an office and looking cute; they are not good for hoofing it around a city for hours. To that end, I bought these sneaker-y flats and was very pleased with them. I was comfortable all day and managed to avoid that Big White Sneaker look that so many other tourists were sporting. I think I’ll get a lot of wear out of them in the fall, too.

3 Responses to “What I Wore on Vacation: Seattle”

  1. stephanie August 31, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    This is perfect for how to pack for my trip to Vermont next week (except I have to pack stuff to wear to two weddings on top of it)… totally bookmarking this for reference!

  2. N August 31, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    Thank you for the intro to Kelly Moore camera bags – I am in love (an in need of a camera bag!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vacation Style: San Francisco « Style All Over - September 18, 2012

    […] apparently all the Style All Over writers like going to the cooler part of the West Coast. RA wrote about her trip to Seattle, and Danielle and I have both gone to San Francisco recently. I […]

Comments are closed.

