Simple Monday Work Formula

29 Aug

It seems that most of us have a go-to formula for those days when we aren’t feeling particularly creative or motivated fashion-wise. For me, that formula involves the same basic pieces, and a single color focus. Monday morning I was pretty resistant to put any real effort into my outfit. Here is what I turned to:

As you can see, my basic pieces are slacks, flats, a white tank, and a cardigan. If I really don’t want to put effort into accessories, I use a bold color when possible. Monday this was a berry red. This is a Merona cardigan from Target, which I have in several colors. I find they generally hold up really well through several washings, relatively speaking. I happened to “score” these patent cherry flats on clearance at DSW a few years ago, but they definitely require preventative band-aids on my heels, so I don’t wear them often. But they are so cute!

The pants are a summer favorite of mine, a light stretch chino from Banana Republic. They are probably 5 years old or so, and they are the “Martin” fit. They are heavier than linen, but have the same basic feel, yet they barely require ironing. The length is perfect for flats or a low heel in the summer.

My go-to lazy day accessories involve my wedding rings and small silver hoop earrings, which I literally wear every day (does anyone else do this with earrings or other accessories?), and one of two basic necklaces. Monday I wore the necklace that was my first gift from my husband ever, but some days I wear a silver Tiffany stamped “H” necklace (my son’s initial.) These necklaces both serve to make me feel like I’ve put in just enough effort, but it’s really thoughtless.

Lazy and formulaic, maybe, but I’m not sure what I’d do on some mornings without this approach!

5 Responses to “Simple Monday Work Formula”

  1. Stacey August 29, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

    Love the flats! Yep, I wear the same earrings & necklace every day. I will maybe change them out for a wedding or special occasion but I always go right back to the norm. I probably get new earrings once a year. My necklace holds 3 things; a family tree, a Polish falcon, and my St. Christopher pendent. I have no desire to change it soon. πŸ™‚

    • N August 30, 2012 at 11:56 am #

      I am glad to know I am not alone in the daily jewelry world πŸ™‚

  2. RA August 30, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    My shortcut to looking put-together is to throw on a red necklace, but I think that can apply to red shoes, too! They are never wrong.

    • N August 30, 2012 at 11:57 am #

      Good point!

  3. Chris August 30, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    I just love that your “name” is lawyernomore! I think I am jealous…

Comments are closed.

