Jeans: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly. Actually, just the bad and ugly.

28 Aug

I have a jeans problem: I have one pair that currently fits. And they fit BADLY.

I bought them ages when I was heavier and they fit fine then. Then I lost some weight and folded them away on a shelf. Then I had a baby and my shape changed – my hips are a little wider, which is making all my old jeans a little uncomfortable, except these – these are currently the only ones I own that go around my waist and hips, but that’s about the best I can say about them.

They’re not so bad from this angle.

Saggy, baggy, droopy. The hems are chewed up and ragged. There’s nothing good about these pants.

But they are TERRIBLE from this angle.
(I am so embarrassed to have this picture of my ass on the internet, you guys.)

But I don’t want to spend a bunch on new jeans since I am losing weight (really!) and I don’t want to have to spend a ton of money again in a couple of months when I’m a size smaller.

I tried on some cheaper jeans a couple of weekends ago at Old Navy and the results were disheartening – baggy butt but too-tight waist, the regular-length was too short, but the longs were WAY too long, and there was muffin-top. I also tried looking at Kohl’s at their Rock & Republic jeans, which were so cute on the rack and so wrong on my butt.

Do you have any recommendations for cheaper well-fitting jeans? For the record, I’m 5’8”, somewhere between sizes 10 and 12, athletic (read: meaty) thighs, and long legs.

And when I am back to my normal weight, I’ll likely be an 8, and I’ll be more willing to shell out a little more cash on better jeans since I’ll be able to wear them longer. What are you recommendations for splurge denim?

8 Responses to “Jeans: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly. Actually, just the bad and ugly.”

  1. Danielle (elleinadspir) August 28, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    I think it’s all trial and error. Do any of the clothing boutiques by you have a ‘denim bar’ where you can try a ton of brands at once? For higher cost I love 7FAM. Most my jesns right now are Lucky Brand, I also like some Jcrew styles and have friends who swear by GAP. Not sure any of this really helps!

  2. Ellie August 28, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    Jeans are the devil! I have a couple pairs from Vault Denim that are decent. But other than having a big ol’ jeans home party, I’m not sure where to get them.

  3. Becky August 28, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    I tried on maybe 12 pairs of jeans a few weeks ago, and I liked the Levi’s 529s.It was not fun times, but at least I found an ok pair of jeans.

  4. Julie Short (@mavsmom) August 28, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    So I am in a similar boat in that my post baby body does not fit well into any of the clothes I had before I got pregnant with my son. (At what point do I have to stop using a baby as an excuse for being fat?) So I needed some new jeans since that is what I wear to work every day. I picked up some Levi’s at Dillard’s and I am pretty pleased with them. They are comfortable, fit well, and weren’t ridiculously expensive ($40). I believe I got the 525s which has a tummy slimming panel (can’t tell if it’s helping) but they don’t gap in the back like I’ve had jeans do before.

    • Buster August 28, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

      I’m pretty sure I will be using the baby as an excuse until she’s riding a two-wheeler.

      Thanks for the tip; you’re the second person to suggest Levi’s so I will definitely be giving them a shot. Also: tummy slimming panel? I am INTRIGUED.

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. Stacey August 28, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    I’m a huge fan of American Eagle jeans. I prefer the somewhat flared leg. I think some people my age (35) think AE is more for the younger crowd but I still love the jeans and I get a lot of compliments. Here’s a few:
    http://www.ae.com/web/browse/product.jsp?productId=1432_7385_851&catId=cat90120&bundleCatId=cat4860012 and http://www.ae.com/web/browse/product.jsp?productId=1435_7714_968&catId=cat90120. Both are on sale right now.

  6. vandeblogger August 28, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

    I’ll second the AE recommendation. I’m a big fan.

  7. K August 29, 2012 at 9:23 am #

    Oh! You and I shaped a lot alike and I REALLY like the Denizen brand at Target. They don’t gap in the back, have a bit of stretch, and aren’t toooo boot cut or straight leg–just a nice flattering in-between.

    Also, shopping for jeans BLOWS.

Comments are closed.

