Ikat: Yay or Nay?

28 Aug

So apparently ikat was a trend over the summer?  Or still is a trend?  Or has always been a home trend but is now a fashion trend?  I don’t really know.  All I’m saying is that I bought this pillow at Target this summer and I loved it.  Then my much more fashionable friend came over and was all, “Sarah, I love ikat, don’t you?” and I was all “yeah, totally, I have no idea what you’re talking about but I LOVE it.”  And so my ikat introduction was made.

Ikat, which is pronounced ee-kaht not I-kat just so you know, seems to be everywhere and, frankly, I’m not really convinced.  I like the home stuff.  I love my target pillow and there are some really pretty chairs and linens but when it comes to clothes and accessories it’s a sort of a giant gray area for me.  I know there are some things that are NOT OK, like these shoes from Urban Outfitters, but the rest of it might be good…or it might not…I just can’t make up my mind.

For example, NOT OK shoes and…OK shoes? Sorta ok shoes?  Good shoes? (gap espadrilles)

See what I mean?  I don’t know what I’m doing.  I do know I like this Gap dress and this Anthropologie scarf.  Beyond that, I’ve got nothing.

So, Ikat?  No ikat?  Clearly I need help.

 

5 Responses to “Ikat: Yay or Nay?”

  1. Becky August 28, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    I like ikat on furniture. I don’t like it on shoes, but I think it’s ok on other clothes.

  2. Buster August 28, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    I love the dress and scarf, so I guess yes to ikat. But I’m pretty lukewarm on those Gap shoes (and totally with you on the Urban Outfitters shoes: no). I think I like where it’s more subtle, tone-on-tone colors when it ikat clothing.

  3. Buster August 28, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    I like the bolder ikat colors for furniture, but when it comes to clothing/accessories, I think I like the tone-on-tone, like in the Gap dress, more. It’s a little more subtle.

    • N August 29, 2012 at 9:47 am #

      Yes, this! I could not figure out what I think but this is it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How I Shop for Scarves « Style All Over - September 21, 2012

    […] Ikat-Print Scarf (other colors available): $8 [this one's for Sarah!] […]

Comments are closed.

