My Favorite Jean Shorts

21 Aug

I love jeans. Jeans, in my opinion, are the most comfortable thing to wear and you can dress them up or down. Jean shorts are a different story. First off, my jean shorts cannot be tight. It’s like when you wear jeans in the summer and it’s too hot and they stick to you, it’s the same with jean shorts. I need room in my jeans shorts so if I sweat (um, ew) I don’t feel like I’m trapped inside my jeans shorts. Or that my jeans shorts are going places they shouldn’t (yes, you know what I mean).

A few summers (2010) ago I was trolling American Eagle‘s website and saw these shorts.

They are “cut off” and rolled once (or half?), and they have always stayed rolled up like that even after I wash them, which I love. I believe they are the boyfriend fit so they are baggy, which I also love. Nothing is sticking when it’s hot. The shorts are not at all tight around my legs either. They do create the saggy butt effect, but I’m okay with that because I only wear them casually. And I think it’s supposed to be the look of the shorts.  Here is a similar pair I found on AE’s website. Those aren’t as destructed like I prefer and I’m not sure how they fit but it’s always possible to go a size up to get the boyfriend look if that’s what you want. Here’s another pair that are a bit longer.  I think jeans shorts can be cute if worn right and if they are comfortable for you, then go for it. But if it’s not comfortable for you, then you probably look uncomfortable wearing them so go for khaki shorts instead. I also enjoy khaki shorts (the style) in blue or gray as well!

AND, if you wait until the end of summer you can score them on clearance. Only a few stores that I like to shop at have good clearance and American Eagle is one of them. You just have to stalk them like a hawk.

My shirt was $2.00 dollar garage sale find. I don’t normally seek out garage sales (thrift/consignment stores? I do) but my neighbor took me to a few at the beginning of summer and I found this shirt. It’s from Gap but I have no idea what year. I might have wanted a size smaller if I had gone to a store to buy it but it works for the price. I love the color and stripes. Orange! I don’t even normally wear orange but I like it in this shirt. It’s 3/4 sleeve so it’s good for a day like today that’s 72 degrees and that’s when I can never decide if I’m hot or cold. Here’s something sort of like it on Gap’s website right now. And just for fun, since I normally stick with my blue’s, black, and greys, I do like this color on this shirt. I love the tshirts with the vintage name. They are soft and comfy.

My belt is also American Eagle (2009) and my flip flops are Old Navy (2012).

I wore my hair down to take these pictures but since we were going to the fair today you can bet I went right into the bathroom and put it up.

Hi, that’s my dirty bathroom. I’m actually a clean freak but for some reason my bathroom upstairs always gets neglected but as you can see….there is a bottle of soft scrub on the counter, in the reflection of the mirror, so I had INTENTIONS of cleaning that bathroom…er…last week? Anyway, whatever, this is a fashion blog, not a cleaning blog.

5 Responses to “My Favorite Jean Shorts”

  1. Tessie August 21, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

    See, I think those are SO CUTE, so what is the DEAL with the jorts-hate?

    • Andrea August 22, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

      I think the real hate with jorts is how sloppy people can get with them. They don’t fit properly, too small usually, are an unflattering length (too short or too long), or are beyond normal wearing conditions with holes/paint splatters/frayed edges/pockets longer than the shorts. I think jean shorts suffer from far more wear and tear than other kind of shorts. And no one is cutting off their old Dockers to make shorts. (Please tell me people aren’t doing this!) So normal jean shorts get a bad rap because they are far outshadowed by the bad choice jean shorts.

      I like Stacey’s because they seem to fit well and even though they have some rips and frays, it’s not excessive. I guess it’s all about finding the appropriate fit and style (I guess that is actually what we should be striving for in all our wardrobe choices.) Some people just do jean shorts terrible justice. Check out jorts dot com. Actually, on second hand, don’t.

  2. audrey August 21, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    “Anyway, whatever, this is a fashion blog, not a cleaning blog.” — That right there is exacly why I love this blog. It’s fashion for real people like me who like to be comfortable and can’t always be bothered to clean the upstairs bathroom that no one ever sees anyway.

    Also, I think that shorts+shirt combo is super cute!

    • Becky August 24, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

      Audrey, if we had a movie poster, I would put your quote on it. “It’s fashion for real people like me who like to be comfortable and can’t always be bothered to clean the upstairs bathroom that no one ever sees anyway.” I’m so glad you like the blog!

  3. Judy August 22, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    Love it! So cute!

Comments are closed.

