Comfortable Shoe Dilemma

20 Aug

I’ve recently switched careers from a desk job (lawyer) to one that requires me to spend a lot more hours on my feet (high school teacher). When I was student teaching last spring, I noticed how hard the all of the standing is on my feet, knees and ankles. I want to get some shoes that minimize the pain I feel, but the shoes are adding insult to my feeling-like-an-old-lady-injury. So many shoes that are designed for comfort are just UGLY. I have my pride!

My requirements are that the shoes are easy on my feet and easy on the eyes. I’d prefer that the shoes go with both brown and black pants. Here are some options I’m considering.

{Image credit: Zappos.com}

These Dansko Marbled Professional Patent shoes are very popular with nurses, doctors and teachers, all of whom spend a lot of time on their feet. I like them, but I don’t love them. I feel like they are clunky looking and will look even more so on my large feet. On the other hand, they come highly recommended and I can get them in this cute Black Cherry color or this fun, orange-y leaf print. At $135, I would want these shoes to last and be something I’d wear daily. I also like that I can wear them with thick, warm socks in the winter time since my feet are ALWAYS cold.

{Image credit: Zappos.com}

These Trotters Jenn loafers are probably more my style, I’m embarrassed to admit. I had a pair that looked like this years ago and I wore them to death. I think they were Nine West. I currently have a brown pair from Ann Taylor. They are not crazy comfortable, but maybe these black ones (or grey) would be comfy. I am reluctant to be the teacher who wears croc-embossed loafers every day, though. I was hoping teaching would allow me to expand my style profile, not entrench it in a loafer. At $100 ($70 for grey), they are reasonable for a shoe that I would wear a lot.

{Image credit: Zappos.com}

I broke down and bought these Born Stowaway II flats in the wood color. Wood was not my first choice, but they were on sale for $85, down from the usual $115 or $130. I love the metallic pinenut color shown in the picture above, but they didn’t have the Big Foot size in stock. The reviews of this shoe are good. Born is a brand known for comfort, and they are pretty cute. I’ll let you know how I like them. They also come in cute snake print colors.

Are there any cute, comfortable shoes I’m missing in my search? Do you have any of these shoes and love them?

12 Responses to “Comfortable Shoe Dilemma”

  1. dejad23 August 20, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

    I really like the Born Stowaways! Love that metallic color. I haven’t worn comfortable shoes in years, but I’ve heard great things about Tieks: http://tieks.com/?gclid=CNDbtfvY9rECFce8KgodSAkAew

    • MauraLessa August 21, 2012 at 8:42 am #

      Those are cute! I bought a pair of fold up flats recently from a Kembrel pop-up store. I’m just wondering how professional they look, especially since I’ve seen them advertised as perfect for the walk of shame!!

  2. audrey August 20, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    I have a friend who has the Danskos (that exact pair in the pretty black cherry color), and she absolutely LOVES them. She’s on her feet all day, including climbing up and down ladders (she’s a mural painter), and she says they’re super comfy. And when I see her wearing them, they look adorable and not clunky at all.

    • MauraLessa August 21, 2012 at 8:40 am #

      A mural painter! Wow, how cool! I’d be nervous about clogs on ladders. I once fell down steps wearing clogs. I am kind of scarred. Also kind of clumsy, so…

  3. N August 20, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

    My sister teaches middle and high school and swears by Danskos. I love that black cherry color, too!

    • MauraLessa August 21, 2012 at 8:38 am #

      Another vote for Danskos! I think they sound like a winner for winter.

  4. N August 20, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Oh, and have you tried Privos? I loved a pair I got a few years ago but haven’t checked them lately. Not the dressiest but they have some cute flats.

    • MauraLessa August 21, 2012 at 8:37 am #

      I had not heard of Privos. I’ll have to check them out! Thanks!

    • MauraLessa August 21, 2012 at 8:36 am #

      Those are cute! I was thinking about the Maria Sharipova flats from Cole Haan, but I can’t bring myself to spend that much on shoes!

  5. -R- August 20, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

    Not sure if that link was long enough – good Lord. I also like the Flexx Bon Bon Ballet based on reviews: http://www.endless.com/s/ref=dp_msr/?frag=1&colors=519118011|519127011&node=242295011&nodes=242295011&sort=relevance-fs-browse-rank&showDesigner=0&rnid=519055011&clientPageSize=100#ie%3DUTF8%26cAsin%3DB007EIHHXY%26fromPage%3Dsearch%26sr%3D1-21%26qid%3D1345489985447%26clientPageSize%3D100%26node%3D242295011%26sort%3Drelevance-fs-browse-rank%26nodes%3D242295011%26colors%3D519118011%257C519127011%26showDesigner%3D0%26rnid%3D519055011%26asin%3DB002UD5LRC%26ref%3Dsr_1_21%26pageCode%3Dd

  6. Liz August 20, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    My all-time favorite shoes are my Josef Siebel sandals. I have canvassed 200 doors in one day wearing them and, while my feet were sore that night, they weren’t the next day. They are awesome.

    Siebel makes shoes in many different styles, I’ve only ever tried the sandals tho.

Comments are closed.

