Stretch your wardrobe – wear a skirt as a dress!

16 Aug

I was shopping for dresses the other day and thought I’d hit the jackpot when I saw a whole bunch – on the clearance rack! In my size! I pulled them out and…they were not dresses, but skirts. I tried them on anyway and liked this one, but it wasn’t really what I was going for to wear to a summer party.

Just for the heck of it, I pulled it up and tried it as a dress.  The drop waist meant the lower part of the skirt started right below my bust and made it look like it was always intended to be worn this way (once I added a belt to create an empire waist). I like it way more than the slightly dowdy skirt.

By the way, that’s an admission wristband I’m wearing, not an electric blue bracelet.

My only problem is it’s a little short. It stops well above my knees. I intended to buy some capri-length leggings, but haven’t been able to find any. Do you know where I can get some? Should I wear full-length? Knee-length? I was also considering spanx-type shorts (or bike shorts?) that don’t show, but are there in case of stray gusts of wind. Would that be a better idea?

How would you wear this skirt?

P.S. If you think I’m crazy and shouldn’t wear this in public, please let me know.

7 Responses to “Stretch your wardrobe – wear a skirt as a dress!”

  1. Julie Short (@mavsmom) August 16, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    I think that looks adorable as a dress and I never would have thought to try something like that. It’s hard to tell from the picture but I don’t think it looks that short. It’s probably more what you feel comfortable in.

  2. Becky August 16, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    I do think it needs leggings! I would say either capri length or full length. Maybe in navy to match the belt.

  3. RA August 16, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

    I do this with a skirt, too, but I only use it for a swim coverup because it makes me feel SUPER uncomfortable. But that’s just me. If you don’t feel comfortable, sure, throw on some leggings! Capri ones with flats would be cute.

  4. K August 16, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    That is SO CUTE as a dress with that belt. I adore it.

    Target has black cotton capri length leggings for usually $8.00, sometimes $5.00 on sale.

    But! I have started buying non-cotton leggings as they tend to grip the item of clothing I’m wearing and shit gets bunchy. So, I now only buy polyester or spandex (NON-SHINY) leggings and not only do they have more sucking-in capabilities but they are much more comfie. I found mine at Charlotte Russe.

  5. Stacey August 16, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

    I think it looks really cute! Great idea! Legging would be cute but not necessary!

  6. Liz August 17, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    I think it’s adorable! Nordstroms has leggings in it’s active wear dept, and also some lacy edged ones in lingerie.

  7. Tara August 17, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

    So cute! I found capri-length leggings at NY&Co a few years ago.

Comments are closed.

